We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.
Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

AddOns for lotro

I was asking myself if there is plan about implimenting AddOns, like DamageDone, or Threatmeter. It would really be nice if yes. Maybe we could try to make them ourselves if we had the Language lotro uses for interface and all.

Re: AddOns for lotro

I really enjoy playing LOTRO currently and before I started playing a couple months back, I played WoW for the past two years. The player-made addons that allowed you to customize the UI was one of the best things about WoW. I honestly can't imagine how long I would have played WoW if I was limited to just using the default UI.

I really hope LOTRO has a successful lifespan in the MMO genre. IMO one way to help that come to fruition is the default UI either has to get some serious new functionality added to it that replicates the features of the more popular WoW addons (ex. Auctioneer, Lootlink, FuBar, Outfitter) or allow the modding community to get their hands on the UI scripting code so they can create it themselves. The Ace compliant addons used by so many WoW players is a prime example of how the modding community can enrich the enjoyment of the game for the benefit of the entire community.

I know a lot of players here cringe at the thought of incorporating anything from WoW into LOTRO but for anyone who has played both games, the similarity between the default LOTRO UI and the WoW default UI is striking. I've read a lot of comments that LOTRO is a WoW-clone because of this similarity. Personally I would take that as a compliment if I worked at Turbine because both the WoW and LOTRO default UIs are well designed. The biggest difference between the two is that WoW allows the customer to use player-made addons to improve UI functionality. hopefully Turbine will do so as well at some point.