We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.

Returning player wondering about pre f2p server? SOA/MOM/SOM?

I have been playing Lotro now for a few months, catching up my years of absence. I have enjoyed the epic quests, and exploring the new regions and I am glad you have brought back raids/instances as endgame focus.

Even though I have had a nice experience, I feel like this isn't the game I used to know and love. Content wise, I think its way better now than back in 2014/15 or so when I stopped playing. But the new embers/motes system along with the tedious LI/Virtue grind I am really disappointed. I also feel like the overall difficulty is too easy, the combat feels a bit too fast. Doing some T3 instances as DPS Champion the combat feels way more spammy than it was back then.. I dunno if this is a recent change, but it was actually pretty tiresome to keep a constant high DPS after a few instance runs. Especially coming from FFXIV.

I started to lose interest in Lotro with HD/Gondor, epic battles wasn't my thing and Gondor had very few instances. I hated the class changes in HD, and still dislike it(even if it is better now). Give me old trait system back!! The best days for me was pre f2p/early f2p era. With the success of wow classic, would it be possible to get a pre f2p server of Lotro? Most preferably SOA that would eventually progress into Siege of Mirkwood?

I tested the legendary servers also, but it was definitely not the original experience. It lacks everything that made SOA great IMO. Where are all the group quests? :O

With that being said, I will see if I buy the new expansion.. So far I might do it just for the story, maybe run a few instances. But I would seriously buy the most expensive SOA package+lifetime sub if you decide to re-release
    Last edited by why-becauseIcan; Sep 20 2021 at 07:28 AM.

SSG pretty much made it clear that they will not make a SoA classic server.