We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.

Permission to Publish a Screenshot

Cambridge University Press will publish my next book, The Social Structure of Online Communities, and we would like to use for the cover a screenshot I took in Lord of the Rings Online. I could send you a copy of the picture we want to use, and any other information you want. Do we need permission to publish the picture on the cover of the book? If so, would you please grant permission? I am an experienced social scientist who has published extensively about massively multiplayer online games; see for example my Wikipedia page:
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Sims_Bainbridge
    Sincerely, William Sims Bainbridge, Ph.D.

This is obviously more of a rights issue question for the legal department, but the general usage policies for screenshots and other in game assets you wish to use for noncommercial purposes are covered in the Daybreak Terms of Service here: https://www.daybreakgames.com/terms-...vice#section11

14.4 is probably most relevant: