We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Post Arathaert's Guardian Guide

Arathaert's Guardian Guide
    Current through Update 19

I have been playing a Guardian for over four years. I wrote this as a basic intro guide to get new guards up and running with what they need to know, so it's supposed to be read from that standpoint. That being said, if I missed anything or something's incorrect, let me know and I'll update it. Thanks, and enjoy!

BASIC INTRO

What is a Guardian? Here's what you need to know:

1. Guardians are awesome.
    2. Guardians live to protect others.
    3. See #1.

But seriously, let's run down the basics of what makes a Guardian.

First off, guards are a heavy armor, melee tank class. A tank is the person in a group that takes all the hits to free up other folks to do their jobs. Anyone who plays a healer knows it's far easier to keep one person healed than it is to keep 6 healed while you're being interrupted left and right.

Same if you play a damage class - lots easier to just unleash on mobs (enemies) if you don't have to worry about staying alive.

Guardians can dish out respectable damage in red line. However, it doesn't compare to, say, a champion's damage, especially against a single target.

And well it shouldn't. Guardians are first and foremost protectors and tanks. Basically, if the idea of wading in to the thick of a fight and having ten, twenty, thirty? mobs whaling away on you (and only you) doesn't appeal to you, then don't play a Guardian.

If it does, then read on!

BEFORE WE GET STARTED….