We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Connection to the server has been lost!

    IF you're lucky enough to connect to the patch server...which is having major problems right now...attempting to load a character results in "Connection to the server has been lost." (Nimrodel in this case).

    And IF you manage to get in game, going through a doorway also gets you "Connection to the server has been lost." (Doorway to the crafting area of Galtrev)

    Hunter ports are not effected.

    LotRO facebook has posts from others with connection problems.

    Sapience, any word on what's going on?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    5,199
    Nimrodel the only server you've tried? And those you've seen on facebook? How many servers seem to be affected?
    R5 100 GRD Marevayave - Leader of Riddermarked For Death
    R8 100 MNS Fayah/100 LM Siennah/100 HNT Dinenol/102 RK Dhurik
    100 CHN Alachas/85 CPT Dinfaerien/60 BUR Dhax/35 WDN Godoric
    R9 105 MNS Fayeh (alt Wilya) - Lonely Mountain Band @ Landroval

  3. #3
    Sapience is offline Former Community Manager & Harbinger of Soon
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9,519
    Quote Originally Posted by GrorFoebane View Post
    IF you're lucky enough to connect to the patch server...which is having major problems right now...attempting to load a character results in "Connection to the server has been lost." (Nimrodel in this case).

    And IF you manage to get in game, going through a doorway also gets you "Connection to the server has been lost." (Doorway to the crafting area of Galtrev)

    Hunter ports are not effected.

    LotRO facebook has posts from others with connection problems.

    Sapience, any word on what's going on?
    I just logged into several server and checked the stats and everything is where we expect it to be at this time. Yes, Nimrodel was one of the servers I logged on to.

    Often times these issues are isolated to the individual or occasionally a geographic area.

    As you had issues with patch and login I'm going to suggest you try cycling your modem, router, and PC. Then see what happens. It's possible it's ISP related, congenstion can cause issues.
    But usually one off issues, or a handful or reports are indicative of something local or regional to the user.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    5,749
    As someone who has had to live with low quality internet connections, the first things I do, before touching hardware, is to run a ping trace (I use pingplotter) and look at internetpulse.net. A ping trace will immediately fail if you have local to your machine/router/modem hardware trouble and so will a web query fail if you have local trouble, even if the Windows icon says that you are connected to the internet. If I have something like that then I will power cycle the nic (ipconfig release, ipconfig flushdns, ipconfig renew, or pull the cord or pull the USB wi-fi adapter out). If I can see the router but nothing else then I'll cycle both the modem and the router.

    One nice thing about pingplotter is that it will show name resolved hops graphically so you can see where trouble may lie between you and the server. Unfortunately for me, my ISP is pretty good but the backbone operator they use is prone to having routing trouble. I think people really don't know how ugly the backbone looks even when you don't lose connections completely.
    "No sadder words of tongue or pen are the words: 'Might have been'." -- John Greenleaf Whittier
    "Do or do not. There is no try." -- Yoda
    On planet Earth, there is a try.
    Indeed, in a world and life full of change, the only constant is human nature (A is A, after all :P).
    We old vets need to keep in mind those who come after us.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    5,199
    Quote Originally Posted by cdq1958 View Post
    As someone who has had to live with low quality internet connections, the first things I do, before touching hardware, is to run a ping trace (I use pingplotter) and look at internetpulse.net. A ping trace will immediately fail if you have local to your machine/router/modem hardware trouble and so will a web query fail if you have local trouble, even if the Windows icon says that you are connected to the internet. If I have something like that then I will power cycle the nic (ipconfig release, ipconfig flushdns, ipconfig renew, or pull the cord or pull the USB wi-fi adapter out). If I can see the router but nothing else then I'll cycle both the modem and the router.

    One nice thing about pingplotter is that it will show name resolved hops graphically so you can see where trouble may lie between you and the server. Unfortunately for me, my ISP is pretty good but the backbone operator they use is prone to having routing trouble. I think people really don't know how ugly the backbone looks even when you don't lose connections completely.
    Same here. I always just send a ping to my dad's workplace servers. Sometimes I'll sit there and spam them with pings to see what the average is. Our ping rates used to spike into the thousands. These days (once we finally complained enough that our internet providers came out and actually fixed their lines) our ping times rarely spike. Still, pinging can answer a lot of questions when it comes to connection issues.

    A tracert is similar to a ping and may also be able to help show where down the line you encounter problems.
    R5 100 GRD Marevayave - Leader of Riddermarked For Death
    R8 100 MNS Fayah/100 LM Siennah/100 HNT Dinenol/102 RK Dhurik
    100 CHN Alachas/85 CPT Dinfaerien/60 BUR Dhax/35 WDN Godoric
    R9 105 MNS Fayeh (alt Wilya) - Lonely Mountain Band @ Landroval

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    2,280
    Quote Originally Posted by GrorFoebane View Post
    IF you're lucky enough to connect to the patch server...which is having major problems right now...attempting to load a character results in "Connection to the server has been lost." (Nimrodel in this case).

    And IF you manage to get in game, going through a doorway also gets you "Connection to the server has been lost." (Doorway to the crafting area of Galtrev)

    Hunter ports are not effected.

    LotRO facebook has posts from others with connection problems.

    Sapience, any word on what's going on?

    Since you mentioned that it is frequently happening with zoning through doors, this sounds port related.

    Turning everything off for a few minutes then turning back on the modem-router-computer in that order and letting each cycle though before turning on the next might well help for a while.

    you could also try setting the user specified port in the UserPreferences.ini file to a value between 9000 and 9013 (under the [Net] section) Note: this will cause a problem if you run multiple clients on the same computer, but is highly recommended if you connect to LOTRO on more than one computer through the same router, at the same time, and you experience issues like this.

    you could also work through the section on ports in the
    connection sticky.

    There are certainly other things that could be going on, but since you mentioned going through doors, this seems most likely to me to be at least one of the issues.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    5,749
    You might also have to check the chat ports, 2900 to 2910 I think, for that can cause connection trouble as well.
    "No sadder words of tongue or pen are the words: 'Might have been'." -- John Greenleaf Whittier
    "Do or do not. There is no try." -- Yoda
    On planet Earth, there is a try.
    Indeed, in a world and life full of change, the only constant is human nature (A is A, after all :P).
    We old vets need to keep in mind those who come after us.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload