We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.

Question Turbine.UI.Lotro.TextBox and Mouse Events

I'm an experience programmer but I'm new to Lua and LotRO plugin creation. I've delved into it because I'm not happy with a plugin I'm using. I have modified it in many ways and have learned much but I've run into a strange problem.

I can't seem to catch most Mouse Events with Turbine.UI.Lotro.TextBox. I want to execute a function whenever I right-click the TextBox. Every version of the API documentation I've read lists the standard Mouse Events as members. The only ones that seem to actually work are Mouse Enter and Mouse Leave. Oddly, Mouse Enter also fires when I click the TextBox.

The non-skinned version, Turbine.UI.TextBox, seems to fire all Mouse Events so I've switched to using that for now. I would prefer to use the skinned version, if possible, but mainly I'd like a better understanding of what is going on.

Is the API documentation in error regarding Turbine.UI.Lotro.TextBox?

Is Turbine.UI.Lotro.TextBox suppressing events in a way that can be overcome?

This is a bug in the Turbine.UI.Lotro.TextBox class. Mouse events are being handled by the control and are not passed on to Lua. In fact, if you use SetMouseVisible(false) on a Turbine.UI.Lotro.TextBox, the mouse events do not pass through the control either making it impossible to handle mouse events other than MouseEnter and MouseLeave with a Turbine.UI.Lotro.TextBox. One possible workaround is to put a transparent text control (it has to be a textbox to get and pass on focus) in front of the textbox and use the :FocusGained event to set focus to the textbox effectively allowing you to catch mouse events.