We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.

Installing LOTRO on my new LINUX PC. Arggghh!

I dread, really dread asking this question as the past five and a half hours of reading endless squabbles on the internet about how LOTRO can be run on Linux? - has proved frustrating and fruitless.

I am NO programer or NASA scientist and since my Windows XP is no longer going to be supported my Microsoft after April 2014 I have decided to use Linux Ubuntu the recent version 12.04 LTS or something which supposedly has support until 2017. It has everything I need and I understood runs LOTRO via something called WINE a windows thingy for old microsoft programs.

I know I know *sigh LOTRO runs best natively on Windows but it is possible to run on Linux indirectly. So say many others. I just would like to be able to do the same like many other families on a budget.

Linux and Open source is a wonderful concept but for just a simple person who has no computer programming language knowledge (but willing to try to learn). Is there anyone just anyone who can write a simple list of instructions of how on earth to run LOTRO and who has done this recently on Linux so that others too who may want to enjoy Linux and play and spend money on LOTRO like they have done for several years on windows continue to do the same. Please.

The frustrating LINUX language of #$- symbols and things is maddeningly complex to fathom out solo with only an internet browser to help and no one to ask questions. Linux is a complete change from Windows I know but it seems like a good thing, I can see the possibilities and LOTRO ought to be able to run on it.