We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.

LI's - Am I missing something?

Hello All,

I am fairly new to LOTRO....about a month or so into my Middle Earth experience. I currently have a level 75 minstrel. I really haven't paid much attention to my LIs as of yet, since the general consensus seems to be to not pay them heed til max level.

However, while crafting or down time at work, I have been trying to wrap my head around the legendary item process. I feel that I have the basics down, as far as leveling, relics, when to decon, etc. But a question I can't seem to find an answer too is bugging me.

Is it really worth it to upgrade from a level 65 legendary item to the current max level one. I understand the difference between third age, second age, first age being mostly the total number of points. But those point totals are the same regardless of level. Most of the legacies that I am interested in, as a red line minie, are percentage based. And from what I can tell, the legacies remain the same from 65 to 95.

I can understand the dps increase for the weapon being a consideration, but as a minstrel I only have 2 melee attacks heralds strike and auto attacks. And currently most enemies never get within melee range of me. I have tried looking on some online item databases to compare...but all the ones I found are just the name of the item with stats blanked. I assume because of the random nature of the ID/reforge process.

Can anyone shed some light on this for me? Say the difference between a level 65 songbook and a level 95 songbook of the same class (FA, SA. TA)

Thanks for any and all replies.

Sincerely,
    LOTRO Noob

For tactical classes (Minis, RK's & LM's) the dps rating of an LI is for your tactical skills, not your melee skills, so your dps will fall behind the level curve if you don't switch to higher level LI's.