We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Help with Research for Graduate Class - Woot, Whoot, or W00t?

Woot, w00t or whoot?

Hello my fellow gamers. I am currently doing research for my sociolinguistics class this semester on gaming language and I hope you will be able to help me out by answer the below questions.

I am studying the word woot, whoot, w00t.

What does woot mean to you?

Do you use it outside of gaming world?

If so in casual speech or on a more professional level?

How often do you play the game?
    20 hours or more a week
    15 - 20 hours a week
    10-15 hours a week
    0-10 hours a week

Is there another word out there that you use that can replace woot?

IF so what is it and what does it mean? and is it used outside of he gaming world?

Are you male or female?

Age group
    15-20
    20-30
    30-40
    40 and beyond.

Thanks,

AKA: Emmaline or Kestrelia.

Woot = a word that I do not use in any context. I do not understand what it mean. It seems to have something to do with an expression of happiness associated with an unexpected good result. I do not have a term that I use for an unexpected good result. I am not into chat displays of success or audible dsiplays via voice. If you do not something awesome you will get a "Congo Rats" or "Well Done" from me in game

If I were to do something awesome it would involve a fist pump or something similar in real life. Local to the people around me. Nothing in game qualifies as awesome. It got to be something like win the Lotto for me. Or it got to be a sporting event success like when my daughter finished a marathon run or scored a soccer goal. Pro sports will also generate cheers and like when NCSU is doing well. Boos when Carolina is whooping our behinds.

Male - 60 years old.
    Unless stated otherwise, all content in this post is My Personal Opinion.