We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.

Stealth and the burglar in Moria question.

I'm just beginning in Moria with my level 52 Burglar. My legendary burglar's tools have +3 stealth boost, but I've noticed that the goblins I am hunting near Durin's Threshold, blue names to me, almost always see me before I get into strike position. What's going on with that? Is there something I'm missing or have I just been having a run of bad luck? Thanks.
    Officer and elder member of the Claws of Abigail kin.

Never had a problem here at that level. Same as usual - avoid 90 degree frontal arcs and come in directly behind. Diversion helps a bit to get through groups. Moria has a lot of tight corridors so staying out of the front arc range and staying far enough away is more tricky than doing it outdoors - the mobs in moria may have better stealth detection than normal... I remember noticing that more of them would about-face just as I was putting a stabby in...

It takes time figuring out the stealth detection mechanics. There is a certain radius around the mob which may get you detected if you enter it. Second and maybe even more important factor is time you spend in that radius. From my experience, higher stealth speed is more important in getting past mobs than stealth lvl, unless you are getting past by some higher lvl mobs, which can detect you almost instantly without somoe good +stealth lvl bonus. Chance of detection is also ofcourse much higher if you approach the mob from frontal.

I most of the time rely on speed to not be caught, what i usually do is:
    - pick a target and go in stealth (if im not stealthed already
    - use reveal weakness and diversion when im at around 10m away
    - the mob is turned away and i keep clicking SS in forward so its used as early as possible (the range is around 2m if i remember right, so you dont really have to get in tight contact with the mob)