I haven't been playing nearly that long, but it is my understanding that if you were playing through one of the European hosts, players were given 6 months some time ago to switch their account to Turbine. If it wasn't switched, it was deleted. That's the only way I know of that an account is deleted by the company.
Just saw the name in another post, Codemasters. If you had your account through them and didn't switch, it's gone and unrecoverable. Sorry.
Officer and elder member of the Claws of Abigail kin.