We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.
Results 1 to 25 of 104

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    365

    Turbine are you going to ever fix the missing graphics bug

    Man i just don't get why you do not learn from your mistakes, it really boggles my mind it takes you forever to release a patch to fix xxx and you then break xxxx then it takes you forever to fix xxxx and the cycle continues


    With the latest patch you claim you fixed lag with Warsteads, this may be so but my Game was just working fine now your broke my game i have never had i one Single problem with graphics, now i get mountains that dissaper in less im right on top of them, stairs in moria or bridges that are not there. causing me to have to keep restarting my client i cant move around Moria the cause i cant see the floor, Bridges, Mountains, walkways, It also happens not just in Moria its everywhere.

    Before this last patch i had ZERO problems!!!! I have updated drivers, i have rollback drivers. I have Very expensive water cooled system so don't even say its on my end go back to the beginning of this sentence.


    For crist sake WILL YOU At least address this problem. will you At least communicate with us about this problem.
    [charsig=http://lotrosigs.level3.turbine.com/03202000000339569/01003/signature.png]Sanbor[/charsig]

  2. #2
    This its a very disturbing subject.

    For my part ..i have levelled 5 toons, explored all the quest packs and regions. So ...i can take some missing walls and trees around the map.
    But think about the first timers ... people who are entering moria for the firsts time(for example), and they look to the map and they see invisble walls, missing brigdes and a all lot of graphic failures . Its a totally inmersion killer ...

    As for mounted combat? i never had problems with it , now its just imposible to play my warsteed and do warbands and things like that. To laggy .

    it would be a very nice gesture from turbine if they at least gave us and answer about this graphic problem we are having right know .
    [charsig=http://lotrosigs.level3.turbine.com/062050000002782cb/signature.png]Norhog[/charsig]

  3. #3
    I think the missing graphics is due to reduced awareness, which is now a feature not a bug https://www.lotro.com/forums/showthr...uced-Awareness.
    What I don't get tho is why me being on the salamander island in Evendim alone would cause a strain on the server for this to kick in - there seems to be some real problems with the servers at the mo. I've had it kick in in other non populated areas too. It's not like Windfola is bustling with activity in lower level areas.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    365
    Quote Originally Posted by Tarlywyn View Post
    I think the missing graphics is due to reduced awareness, which is now a feature not a bug https://www.lotro.com/forums/showthr...uced-Awareness.
    What I don't get tho is why me being on the salamander island in Evendim alone would cause a strain on the server for this to kick in - there seems to be some real problems with the servers at the mo. I've had it kick in in other non populated areas too. It's not like Windfola is bustling with activity in lower level areas.

    the thread seems to discuss the same problems i am having but i do not get the Alert that says reduced awareness. before 11.4 i would get that alert very rarely.
    [charsig=http://lotrosigs.level3.turbine.com/03202000000339569/01003/signature.png]Sanbor[/charsig]

  5. #5
    There are a lot of people experiencing the missing textures in the game. Yes it could be some issue with the servers or something to do with the last patch or it could be that there is an issue with Turbines service provider not being able to keep up with the demand on the traffic. Or, it is a combination of all. As far as the reduced awareness goes, that as well could be an issue with the servers or the internet between Turbine and us.

    Although, I have been playing almost 4 years now and do not remember any missing textures in the game before the last couple of months. I haven't seen many but I have seen a few. I experienced some in and around the Trestlebridge area. A section of the bridge there disappeared on me as I was crossing it. Kinda weird looking down to the water and wondering if the game was going to remember that I was on the bridge or not. Thought maybe Gandalf was on the other side of the bridge saying " you shall not pass ".

    Not sure if upgrading their servers would help at all. Probably would a bit but the cost I think would be more than WB/Turbine would approve. Even then, we still have the internet connections between the servers and us.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    709
    Also experiencing problems with textures failing to load here. Just yesterday in fact. I was in Ered Luin, in Kheledil docks area, and in the spider den in the back of Rath Teraig. All kinds of textures were failing to load. Trees, bridges, etc.

    Fortunately, the issue is rare enough that it hasn't caused me to bang my head into the keyboard. Or play another game. Yet. And I knew what was happening, so I played around it for a bit.

    An hour later, no problems whatsoever.

    My guess is that there is some lazy loading (software term) going on, and it is failing very consistently at times for some unknown reason.
    Viniel, 100 Minstrel -- Tokomak, 100 Guard -- Valwin, 100 Captain -- Vinlad, 100 Burglar -- Vinius, 100 Champion -- (and others)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sylvan kingdom
    Posts
    707
    I can't imagine a hardware issue on Turbine's end all of a sudden causing this. This message comes up even when the server is a ghost town. Everything worked mostly well before 11.3 in regards to Reduced Awareness. In fact in 5+ years, most of which has been pretty active since 2011, I never saw that message once prior to then. (Unless it's a newly coded message...)

    OTOH it is kind of fun to tool around in Moria and guess where the floors (and the chasms) are.
    Et Eärello Endorenna utúlien. Sinome maruvan ar Hildinyar, tenn’ Ambar-metta!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    457
    I don't think the missing textures issue isn't necessarily connected to the reduced awareness issue. I started noticing missing textures after one of the first post-RoR updates, a patch of wall in Harwick went AWOL at times. The reduced awareness thing seems to be much more recent, but I haven't run across it, so I'm not sure.
    Originally Posted by Damian6988
    That is not unlike drinking a pot of coffee and taking a Valium.
    "I want to stay up and get more work done, but I don't want to remember any of it."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Califonia
    Posts
    521
    Quote Originally Posted by Tarlywyn View Post
    I think the missing graphics is due to reduced awareness, which is now a feature not a bug https://www.lotro.com/forums/showthr...uced-Awareness.
    What I don't get tho is why me being on the salamander island in Evendim alone would cause a strain on the server for this to kick in - there seems to be some real problems with the servers at the mo. I've had it kick in in other non populated areas too. It's not like Windfola is bustling with activity in lower level areas.
    With fabulous features like this for free I guess there's no need for me to pay and re-subscribe I am recently returned and was considering doing so, but I will wait and seeif they get things sorted first. I have found a few missing things in the world, or should I say, I have not found some things - it was a bit scary just walking across nothing into the Cliving Mead hall!
    ****************************** ****
    Happy homeowner on Landroval and Laurelin!
    ****************************** ****

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    12,677
    Reduced Awareness isn't going to have anything to do with most graphics glitches. The former will happen whenever the specific server you're currently on (within a cluster of servers making up each world) is overloaded. That's why it can happen when you're in completely innocuous places (like inside your own house)... your house instance is being run from a server which is overloaded with various other stuff - landblocks, instances, etc.

    Most graphics glitches are just bugs - on the client, not on the server (which is what Reduce Awareness is driven by). The only thing Reduced Awareness should affect is how far away certain things can be seen... dynamic objects (MOBs or dynamic structures/items) which can normally seen at 100 feet may not show up until they're closer (because cutting that in half will reduce server loading by a factor of 4, on average).

    Khafar
    Last edited by Khafar; Oct 04 2013 at 09:49 PM.

  11. #11
    I dunno, I think the missing graphics are server related. It's like they are so overloaded they don't send the client enough info in time for things to be drawn properly when you appear in an area.

    Something weird is going on though, the servers that are being hit by the reduced awareness just aren't that crowded. Meanwhile, Landroval, which is pretty crowded, doesn't seem to ever have it happen. I've seen it on several other servers, but not there.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    in the darkest depths of Mordor, meeting a girl so fair....
    Posts
    940
    Quote Originally Posted by Khafar View Post
    The only thing Reduced Awareness should affect is how far away certain things can be seen... dynamic objects (MOBs or dynamic structures/items) which can normally seen at 100 feet may not show up until they're closer....
    And that's the problem, of course - dynamic and static structures "which normally can be seen at 100 feet" pop in at one to five feet - just in time for your character go over the edge. Reduced Awareness is not the cause, but it is likely a related synergistic and symptomatic factor.

    I'm hoping nobody on this thread will actually claim it's the "client's fault".
    [B][COLOR="DarkOrange"]ad[/COLOR] [COLOR="MediumTurquoise"]astra[/COLOR] [COLOR="DarkOrange"]per alia[/COLOR] [COLOR="DarkRed"]porci[/COLOR][/B]

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Tarlywyn View Post
    I think the missing graphics is due to reduced awareness, which is now a feature not a bug https://www.lotro.com/forums/showthr...uced-Awareness.
    What I don't get tho is why me being on the salamander island in Evendim alone would cause a strain on the server for this to kick in - there seems to be some real problems with the servers at the mo. I've had it kick in in other non populated areas too. It's not like Windfola is bustling with activity in lower level areas.
    My thoughts exactly. I'm getting reduced awareness in Trestlebridge, not a soul in sight. During Farmer's Faire, when it was near impossible to even target the mayor or the table with the ingredients on it due to the sheer amount of people packed together, I wasn't getting the reduced awareness once. Funny thing the reduced awareness. anyway, for the first time I ever I decided to do the earth-kin quests east of Esteldin. Apparently there's trees around that area as well as some barricades. Why is it I only first spotted them after having run back and forth a dozen times? Why did they never show up before? Same thing with the graverobbers in Evendim. That ruin you have to visit 3-4 times? Half the time half the walls aren't showing up. That rooftop where one has to pick up a vase? Not showing up either.
    Luckily I am a veteran player and have learnt to deal which such aggrevating bugs, but for a first-timer, these are dealbreakers.

    Has there been anything official about this yet?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    South Tyrol, sadly in Italy
    Posts
    4,242
    Quote Originally Posted by Tarlywyn View Post
    I think the missing graphics is due to reduced awareness, which is now a feature not a bug https://www.lotro.com/forums/showthr...uced-Awareness.
    It also happens without Reduced Awareness.
    It's a bug on the client side.

    The servers also have some problems at the moment. Yesterday me and someone living in 800 km distance from my location saw some serious server lag in instances. While we both could still move, our skills would not fire and the enemies would stand still. This happened for 2 people living in different countries at the same time. Our communication with the server was ok, since we could still move. But nothing happened in the game.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload