We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    2

    Happy cloud faulse detection.

    I'm trying to install and download the game but the Happy Coud program insists that i dont have enough disk space while i got lots of gbs free on my hard drive.This concludes that i cant download the game what can i do to fix it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Arda
    Posts
    492
    Do not use The Happy Cloud. Use Steam (http://store.steampowered.com) or download directly from Turbine (http://www.lotro.com/en/game/download).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by DEATHKNYGHT View Post
    Do not use The Happy Cloud. Use Steam (http://store.steampowered.com) or download directly from Turbine (http://www.lotro.com/en/game/download).
    Thanks dude .

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    74
    Quote Originally Posted by DEATHKNYGHT View Post
    Do not use The Happy Cloud. Use Steam (http://store.steampowered.com) or download directly from Turbine (http://www.lotro.com/en/game/download).
    I also get this issue on and off. However, I did download directly from Turbine and still ended up with the Happy Cloud. I'm not sure whether it's safe to remove it or not and I don't mind it being there, but at the same time it's kind of annoying.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    4

    another happy cloud issue?

    I also downloaded from happy cloud, but I get a black screen when I try to create a character. should i re install?

  6. #6
    WBS's Avatar
    WBS is offline Weatherstock Wayfarer
    Destroyer of Worlds
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,689
    Quote Originally Posted by nln_rose View Post
    I also downloaded from happy cloud, but I get a black screen when I try to create a character. should i re install?
    No, just change to DX9 or 10 in the graphics options and create your character. Once you're in the game you can change it back to whatever you were using before unless you experience issues in-game in which case change it back again.

    I suspect, though, that you can't get as far as the Options as the Character Selection/Create screen is blacked out.

    There is, fortunately, a way to make the change outside of the game.

    It requires an edit of a key's value in the "UserPreferences.ini" file that resides in the "The Lord of the Rings Online" directory within your Documents directory.

    The key you need to edit is in the "[Render]" section and involves changing the key "GraphicsCore=D3D11" to "GraphicsCore=D3D10" or "GraphicsCore=D3D9" depending on whether choosing DX10 or DX9.

    If you don't feel comfortable carrying out these edits then ask someone who does to help with them and, as always, make a back-up of any file you're going to edit before doing so.

  7. #7
    WBS's Avatar
    WBS is offline Weatherstock Wayfarer
    Destroyer of Worlds
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,689
    Quote Originally Posted by Olessan View Post
    I also get this issue on and off. However, I did download directly from Turbine and still ended up with the Happy Cloud. I'm not sure whether it's safe to remove it or not and I don't mind it being there, but at the same time it's kind of annoying.
    You can't remove HappyCloud once you've installed the game using it as it will uninstall LotRO also if you do, but you can disable it so it doesn't run on your system anymore.

    That wasn't a download direct from Turbine though, it was just a link they provide named "Play Instantly" that links you to HappyCloud. Turbine provide no direct download as such, but the Pando Media Booster download labelled "PC Download" is the closest, and best, option to download the game.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    4
    "No, just change to DX9 or 10 in the graphics options and create your character. Once you're in the game you can change it back to whatever you were using before unless you experience issues in-game in which case change it back again.

    I suspect, though, that you can't get as far as the Options as the Character Selection/Create screen is blacked out.

    There is, fortunately, a way to make the change outside of the game.

    It requires an edit of a key's value in the "UserPreferences.ini" file that resides in the "The Lord of the Rings Online" directory within your Documents directory.

    The key you need to edit is in the "[Render]" section and involves changing the key "GraphicsCore=D3D11" to "GraphicsCore=D3D10" or "GraphicsCore=D3D9" depending on whether choosing DX10 or DX9.

    If you don't feel comfortable carrying out these edits then ask someone who does to help with them and, as always, make a back-up of any file you're going to edit before doing so."




    I can't seem to find it. if you could tell me where it should be exactly (in between which 2lines of code)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    4

    thanks!

    i changed it from 10 to 9 and it worked!! thanks

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload