We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    295

    Stuck on Installing Pre-Reqs

    I finally got my computer working and I could log in Lotro thursday. Now I have this message "Installing Pre-reqs" in my launcher. It seems I cannot go further.. same happens on my other computer. What does it mean? Sorry if this issue is brought up before someplace.
    -ACHAZIA-
    Songwriter in The Shades and my music at Soundcloud
    Contributer at Lotro Players
    The Shadows

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    851
    For me, it was my firewall not allowing my client to connect, all seemed to be ok, but after removing and re-adding the client to Firewall, i got it to work normally.
    [CENTER][URL="https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoKDhkNsAnlzBsy-vyzuJiA"][IMG]http://i.imgur.com/EJbrcnu.jpg[/IMG][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

    [CENTER][COLOR="#FF0000"]The original Valdez[/COLOR][/CENTER]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    295
    Thanks for reply. It didnt help unfortunally. I also have the same problem with another computer in this house that has totally different spec and OS. So I assume is nothing to do about my installation. Maybe something about my connection. Hmm perhaps I must contact support
    -ACHAZIA-
    Songwriter in The Shades and my music at Soundcloud
    Contributer at Lotro Players
    The Shadows

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    851
    Maybe your router has firewall on?

    afaik, it for me, was purely a connection issue. Try to swap the language from client to Germany and back to english.
    [CENTER][URL="https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoKDhkNsAnlzBsy-vyzuJiA"][IMG]http://i.imgur.com/EJbrcnu.jpg[/IMG][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

    [CENTER][COLOR="#FF0000"]The original Valdez[/COLOR][/CENTER]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    9
    Having the same issue here...not the firewall. clicking on client language button but nothing happens. sucks. hate to download client but this is looking grim.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Hamilton, NY
    Posts
    3,699
    www.twitter.com/lotro
    It's an issue affecting many people, and it's currently being worked on.
    [CENTER][IMG]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/tindragon/Base.png[/IMG]
    Steam: Sneakeh Snake[/CENTER]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    10
    I was stuck on Installing Pre-Reqs too. Every few minutes I would check the client, close it, and reopen it while reading through this thread. Just a few moments ago, I actually made it to the password entry screen! In fact, I made it there twice in a row, the second time being just now. Both times, however, when I entered my password and hit 'enter,' it came up with an error: "Failed to read authentication response [err: unexpected end of file][line: 1][col: 1]" Now, twice is coincidence, three is a pattern, let me try again.

    Closes the client, reopens it, and sees what happens.

    Alright, did the same thing again, with the password and error response. So, I seem to be no longer stuck on Installing Pre-Reqs... but I still can't log in. Progress? Yes. But it does also mean the problems from August, that didn't affect me at the time, thank God, seem to have returned. Who knows how long it will take to fix them this time?

    My advice is to submit a ticket with as much information about the problem as possible to Turbine Technical Support, and ignore the generic automated response. Odds are, they are inundated with tickets again. But, just in case they are not, or need an update to the problem, it is always a good idea to let them know what's going on when you can. Right? Other than that, just be patient, let them work, and keep trying to log in. If something changes, but is still broken, update your ticket - don't submit a new one - and just wait for the issue to be fixed. They're only human, and it is Labor Day Weekend, you know.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    The Highlands of Scotland
    Posts
    5,414
    Many threads on this in the main Forum. There is a routing problem in the internet.
    TANSTAAFL

  9. #9
    Everyone in my house is having this exact same problem and it started immediately after the most recent patch. We all have VERY different computers and we've tried every troubleshooting steps we could find dating back 1 week and as far as 5 years... No go... Since this is affecting so many people, I tend to lean towards this being a problem with Turbine and not the masses.

    Anyone from Turbine care to comment?
    "Werd"

  10. #10
    This WORKED for me just now....

    I have Win8

    1) Right Click Lotro .exe
    2) Troubleshoot compatibility, Try recommended settings, (For me was Windows XP service Pack 2)
    3) Change it and relaunch and i got he launcher to work.

  11. #11
    Game just suddenly got past the "Installing Pre-reqs" message but now when you enter your password, you get:

    Failed to read authentication response [err: unexpected end of file][line:1][col:1]
    "Werd"

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Hamilton, NY
    Posts
    3,699
    In case anyone's curious, that means that the initial issue is probably fixed, but Turbine has not turned the login servers back on. They turned them off last night so they could more effectively deal with the issue.
    [CENTER][IMG]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/tindragon/Base.png[/IMG]
    Steam: Sneakeh Snake[/CENTER]

  13. #13

    game load and update stuck on "installing pre-reqs" for 1/23/14 update

    game load and update stuck on "installing pre-reqs" for 1/23/14 update

  14. What worked for me was to turn the proxy setting to "no proxy", then reboot the machine, set to default settings, turn proxy to system default and turn it off again. And after that it worked again.
    [URL="http://the-strongfoots.net"]the-strongfoots.net[/URL]

  15. #15
    If there was an update to the launcher or the client, and these also have rules assigned in a firewall, you will need to delete those rules and add them in again. There may have been significant enough changes that the firewall no longer recognizes the programs.
    [charsig=http://lotrosigs.level3.turbine.com/132130000000751bc/01008/signature.png]undefined[/charsig]

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload