We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 79
  1. #26
    August 4th Log In Issues
    Sun, 04 Aug 2013 15:20:56 +0000
    We are aware of and currently investigating issues that are preventing some players from logging into the game, preventing specific characters from logging in successfully, or disconnecting players once they are logged in the game. We will keep you updated

  2. #27
    Having same problem with the Pre req message. This is the first time ever that I have had a problem logging into this game. Now I know how you feel. Hope it is resolved soon.

  3. #28
    Also stuck on Installing Pre-Reqs, haven't been able to play for two days now.

  4. #29
    Quote Originally Posted by sarbonn View Post
    But I have no life outside of Lord of the Rings Online. And now I'm starting to notice strange people in my house, staring at me, and wanting to interact! I'm not sure what to do?????

    But thanks for the info. Was kind of paranoid there thinking it might just be me.
    HAHAHAHAHHAA

    Just don't try to uninstall and reinstall game, ppl are reporting that the game client does not log in to the patch server either when you attempt this.
    Survivor of the Great Server Crash Of 07' --- Scented Candles for Everyone HOOORAYY

  5. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    25
    Has anyone been able to login who had the "Installing Pre-Reqs" issue?

    Mine just sits there frozen and can't login at all, wondering if it is the same for you guys as well....

  6. #31
    I've been stuck at "Installing Pre-reqs" for two days now.

  7. #32
    Quote Originally Posted by budhism View Post
    Has anyone been able to login who had the "Installing Pre-Reqs" issue?

    Mine just sits there frozen and can't login at all, wondering if it is the same for you guys as well....
    I got in and was on for a bit but got frozen riding to Harwick and it's sat that way now for an hour. I did not get installing pre-reqs when logging in this morning but I did when trying to log in last night and quit and tried it today. Now I'm totally stuck. gonna have to hard close the game.

  8. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by 002 View Post
    I got in and was on for a bit but got frozen riding to Harwick and it's sat that way now for an hour. I did not get installing pre-reqs when logging in this morning but I did when trying to log in last night and quit and tried it today. Now I'm totally stuck. gonna have to hard close the game.
    Wow that sucks... I never had issues logging in the game, this is the first time and even throughout the past two days I was logging in/out without any problems until this morning.

    Now it just stays stuck with the message. Wish Turbine would at least communicate more given that there are two distinct issues going on: trouble logging into specific servers vs. installing pre-reqs.

    I believe they are directly related but would be great to hear from them.

  9. #34
    I'm having the same issue, but apparently the LOTRO login server can be reached just fine:

    traceroute to gls.lotro.com (74.201.102.12), 64 hops max, 72 byte packets
    1 dslrouter (192.168.1.254) 26.487 ms 1.164 ms 1.260 ms
    2 adsl-74-243-238-1.chs.bellsouth.net (74.243.238.1) 39.883 ms 48.126 ms 48.804 ms
    3 72.157.38.17 (72.157.38.17) 53.611 ms 59.711 ms *
    4 72.157.38.53 (72.157.38.53) 23.389 ms 29.554 ms 42.241 ms
    5 12.81.68.48 (12.81.68.48) 25.675 ms 36.411 ms *
    6 12.81.68.52 (12.81.68.52) 70.509 ms 72.979 ms 36.020 ms
    7 12.81.105.94 (12.81.105.94) 33.097 ms 25.217 ms *
    8 12.81.98.26 (12.81.98.26) 98.099 ms 105.020 ms 109.827 ms
    9 ixc00bct-pos-7-0.bellsouth.net (65.83.237.101) 118.467 ms 54.998 ms *
    10 12.81.100.38 (12.81.100.38) 46.390 ms 48.429 ms 53.009 ms
    11 12.81.56.52 (12.81.56.52) 55.342 ms 63.917 ms 37.217 ms
    12 * 12.81.56.63 (12.81.56.63) 99.148 ms 104.865 ms
    13 74.175.192.54 (74.175.192.54) 45.392 ms 47.598 ms 64.067 ms
    14 * cr2.rlgnc.ip.att.net (12.123.152.110) 62.012 ms 48.299 ms
    15 cr1.wswdc.ip.att.net (12.122.3.170) 53.075 ms 48.045 ms 48.970 ms
    16 * gar13.n54ny.ip.att.net (12.122.81.245) 73.563 ms 64.204 ms
    17 192.205.36.142 (192.205.36.142) 73.104 ms 80.557 ms 73.443 ms
    18 * * *
    19 0.xe-8-1-0.gw15.bos4.alter.net (152.63.24.30) 77.602 ms 84.447 ms 81.272 ms
    20 internap-gw.customer.alter.net (152.179.134.214) 93.823 ms 88.668 ms *
    21 border1.te8-1-bbnet2.bsn003.pnap.net (63.251.128.107) 75.734 ms 80.491 ms
    border1.te7-1-bbnet1.bsn003.pnap.net (63.251.128.43) 85.370 ms
    22 turbine-7.border1.bsn003.pnap.net (64.95.76.202) 95.789 ms 104.701 ms *
    23 74.201.102.154 (74.201.102.154) 83.423 ms 96.770 ms 101.413 ms
    24 74.201.102.12 (74.201.102.12) 95.911 ms 76.273 ms 57.084 ms

    I'm not an expert on such issues, but I find it hard to believe that such widespread problems amongst people who have no other problems with their Internet connectivity has any source except Turbine.

  10. #35
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    31

    Unhappy i cant play

    i still this problem
    [center][img]http://www.zona52.net/avatares/verzex.png[/img][/center]

  11. #36
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,451
    Same problem for two days now here also.

  12. #37
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by BAMABIGBOSS View Post
    I tried to uninstall and re-install the game. No help at all. Don't do it. Wont change a thing. Still getting same error message.
    Thank you very much! That saves us all time and disappointment...

  13. #38
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1
    Just want to add my name to the list of those having this problem. I've tried everything I could think of and submitted a support ticket. Still can't get past "Installing Pre-Reqs".

  14. #39
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,451
    Little odd too they refuse to even acknowledge the install pre-reqs errors. Only connection issues are being looked at as far as I can see. I find it hard to believe the game was working fine two days ago and now we all have this issue. Its something on their end. Just typical lately of the state of this game. A lot of people cannot login, a lot of people are stuck in this installing pre-req thing and all I hear is "Well it isnt affecting everyone so low priority we will try and fix it but we have no clue whats wrong so good luck waiting on us to figure it out.". Annoying to say the least. What happened to turbine? When did it come to this?

  15. #40
    Quote Originally Posted by Gareth420 View Post
    Little odd too they refuse to even acknowledge the install pre-reqs errors. Only connection issues are being looked at as far as I can see. I find it hard to believe the game was working fine two days ago and now we all have this issue. Its something on their end. Just typical lately of the state of this game. A lot of people cannot login, a lot of people are stuck in this installing pre-req thing and all I hear is "Well it isnt affecting everyone so low priority we will try and fix it but we have no clue whats wrong so good luck waiting on us to figure it out.". Annoying to say the least. What happened to turbine? When did it come to this?
    Based on extremely limited information, my guess is that what's going on is that some ISPs have contracted with an outside firm named MarkMonitor to track and identify illegal bittorrent traffic - and MarkMonitor is what is screwing up the connections not just for LOTRO but also DDO and games from other companies.

  16. #41
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    12,677
    Quote Originally Posted by Gareth420 View Post
    Little odd too they refuse to even acknowledge the install pre-reqs errors.
    It's very likely the same thing I'm seeing (which is a connection error). When I take a packet capture of a launcher setting, I'm seeing my client send a request to a server in their data center on port 80, presumably to ask about a patching manifest. That packet is getting dropped between here and there, and because no ACK comes back, my TCP/IP stack retransmits the request after a few seconds. Nothing. Again... nothing. Basically, it fails to make a connection, and reports "Failed".

    I'll bet you're seeing the same sort of issue, just a bit earlier in the process (when it's trying to fetch information about prerequisites).

    Until they figure out where that's happening and fix it (or have their data center operator or ISP fix it), neither of us will be logging in.

    Khafar

  17. #42
    Add my name to the list of those stuck at Installing Pre-Reqs. I wasn't on since yesterday morning, so not sure when exactly this started.
    The Haruchai and The Elohim
    Barabolas - 100 Champ | Gilgaros - 100 LM | Findheleth - 100 Cappy | Thaswin - 100 Burg | Nimbreleth - 100 RK


  18. #43
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,451
    Quote Originally Posted by Khafar View Post
    It's very likely the same thing I'm seeing (which is a connection error). When I take a packet capture of a launcher setting, I'm seeing my client send a request to a server in their data center on port 80, presumably to ask about a patching manifest. That packet is getting dropped between here and there, and because no ACK comes back, my TCP/IP stack retransmits the request after a few seconds. Nothing. Again... nothing. Basically, it fails to make a connection, and reports "Failed".

    I'll bet you're seeing the same sort of issue, just a bit earlier in the process (when it's trying to fetch information about prerequisites).

    Until they figure out where that's happening and fix it (or have their data center operator or ISP fix it), neither of us will be logging in.

    Khafar
    Nope not even close to the same issue. I am having no problems communicating with turbine. I can login DDO just fine. The launcher hangs at checking if I have the pre reqs installed.

  19. #44
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,451
    Quote Originally Posted by RamiroSandoval View Post
    Based on extremely limited information, my guess is that what's going on is that some ISPs have contracted with an outside firm named MarkMonitor to track and identify illegal bittorrent traffic - and MarkMonitor is what is screwing up the connections not just for LOTRO but also DDO and games from other companies.
    My problem doesnt have anything to do with communication. I can ping any lotro server I want. The problem is a launcher error. I can login DDO just fine so its not my connection its something turbine did to the launcher.

  20. #45
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    12,677
    Quote Originally Posted by Gareth420 View Post
    Nope not even close to the same issue. I am having no problems communicating with turbine.
    Me neither. I can post on their forums, I can ping and tracert all servers my client is trying to connect to, etc. However, some firewall somewhere is dropping HTTP packets, I'm guessing just before they arrive at the patch server the LOTRO client is trying to talk to.

    This means the client cannot get some little piece of information it wants from the patch server, and it stalls - then fails in about 10 seconds. I don't know this without a packet capture from your machine to look at, but I see mine do an HTTP "GET" on a file named /lotro/PreReqProd/PreInstallListProd.xml from a cloud-based download server run by "akamai.com". I get a "not modified" (304) return code, and it moves on. If that fails for some reason, I'll bet the client would get stuck trying to install pre-requisites.

    Khafar

  21. #46
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6
    Just popping in to say that this is happening to me too and nothing seems to help. I am extremely frustrated.

  22. #47
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    25
    Tried flushing the DNS and nada... Still with the same message. As Khafar mentioned it does seem to be an issue with communication with the servers, but I find it very annoying that Cordoran has posted a couple of times in the main "login issues" thread and haven't acknowledged this issue at all.

    It's very weird that so many players ae having the same issues and others get stuck on the same point as we are...

    Well, looks like my Sunday gaming session is going down the drain.

  23. #48
    I'm stuck on connecting to patch server too...

    Just thought I have to post it to show that I'm one of the "some players with issues" LOL

  24. #49
    I was one yesterday when it seems that everyone was having this problem, and I tried to log on about 3-4 hours ago and now all it says is "Installing Pre-Reqs" with none of the normal messages, it doesn't seem to actually be installing anything though.

  25. #50
    Quote Originally Posted by Khafar View Post
    Me neither. I can post on their forums, I can ping and tracert all servers my client is trying to connect to, etc. However, some firewall somewhere is dropping HTTP packets, I'm guessing just before they arrive at the patch server the LOTRO client is trying to talk to.

    This means the client cannot get some little piece of information it wants from the patch server, and it stalls - then fails in about 10 seconds. I don't know this without a packet capture from your machine to look at, but I see mine do an HTTP "GET" on a file named /lotro/PreReqProd/PreInstallListProd.xml from a cloud-based download server run by "akamai.com". I get a "not modified" (304) return code, and it moves on. If that fails for some reason, I'll bet the client would get stuck trying to install pre-requisites.

    Khafar
    Good info Khafar. However, it doesn't seem to matter how many times you post, most seem to ignore it. <sigh>
    Last edited by Feraxks; Aug 04 2013 at 10:27 PM. Reason: typos

 

 
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload