We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.
Results 1 to 25 of 25
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    12,677

    Getting your browser to remember your login credentials

    People have been complaining that there's no "Remember me" checkbox on the login page any longer, so I thought I'd share how to get your browser to remember them for you...

    First step for FireFox users only: bring up the Plug-ins page, search for "FireBug", and install it. You can disable or uninstall it later if you want.

    Then, read through these instructions once before starting just to speed things up when you do it. The login page "expires" after a few minutes, and you'll want to get these done before it does. You can Reload and try again if that happens:


    1. Bring up your browser, then press F12. This will bring up a developer tool window (IE, Chrome) or FireBug (FireFox).
    2. Leave that window up, then go to the LOTRO log in screen (logging out of the forums if you're currently logged in).
    3. In the developer window at the bottom, make sure you're looking at the HTML tab (IE, FireFox) or the Elements tab (Chrome).
    4. Search for the word "form" (no quotes) in the HTML. For IE and FireFox, there's a search box at the top right. For Chrome, type Ctrl-F and then see the search box at bottom left. Press "Next" a few times until you get to a line in the HTML which starts with '<form id="login"'.
    5. Note that the line you're on has 'autocomplete="off"' in it. You want to change this. Click or double-click on the "off", and change it to "on".
    6. Now you're ready to log in. Do so up above, and when your browser asks you if you want to remember your credentials, say yes.

    This will only need to be done once as long as you never clear all of your remembered passwords.

    Khafar

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    265

    Thanks!

    Thank You - worked great
    “And some things that should not have been forgotten were lost. History became legend. Legend became myth. And for two and a half thousand years, the ring passed out of all knowledge.”
    ? J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    151
    Thanks, Khafar, that works a treat on Chrome.

  4. #4
    Thank you for this.

  5. #5
    Thanks so much for this trick! It worked perfectly.
    [CENTER][IMG]http://img585.imageshack.us/img585/7803/rz50.png[/IMG][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][URL="http://forums.lotro.com/showthread.php?508409-Scenic-Arda"]Scenic Arda[/URL] - [URL="https://www.lotro.com/forums/showthread.php?532343-Scenic-Helm-s-Deep&p=7014227"]Scenic Helm's Deep[/URL] - [URL="https://www.lotro.com/forums/showthread.php?519168-New-forum-skin-light-theme"]Forum Light Theme[/URL][/CENTER]

  6. #6
    Thanks a lot!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    England
    Posts
    114
    Sweet. Thanks Khafar
    [IMG]http://imageshack.com/scaled/large/543/ilhp.png[/IMG][COLOR=#ff0000]
    Slimebag[/COLOR] Defiler R10,[COLOR=#ff0000] Bodolf[/COLOR] Warg R9, [COLOR=#ff0000]Slimeball [/COLOR]Weaver R9. Black Guard and[COLOR=#0099cc] Zoggo[/COLOR] FoG

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    436
    For Chrome you also want to make sure you have the browser setup to remember your credentials.


    1. Click the Chrome menu on the browser toolbar.
    2. Select Settings.
    3. Click Show advanced settings.
    4. Adjust your password settings in the "Passwords and forms" section:
      • Select "Offer to save passwords I enter on the web" if you want Google Chrome to prompt you to save your password every time you sign in to a new website.
    [IMG]https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-OOGLYqiRemk/U2TxWOwnO6I/AAAAAAAACSE/bk3MyjILFJ0/w350-h120-no/LOTRO+Forums+Sig.jpg[/IMG]

    Fat, Fuzzy, & Disabled............life doesn't get any better!
    Kinship: Roxxi Manor

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    619
    Thank you for posting this!
    [color=purple]Cefely Elenhilde of Rivendell, lvl 85 Hunter;[/color][color=turquoise] Nenriel Lirulind of Lorien, lvl 85 Minstrel;[/color][color=hotpink] Cherrie Berry of the Fallohides, lvl 85 Burglar;[/color][color=green] Harloe Palohelm of Rohan, lvl 85 Warden;[/color][color=red] Ayan Anfalase of Gondor, lvl 85 Captain;[/color][color=yellow] Onja Anfalase of Gondor, lvl 83 Champion[/color]
    [color=cyan]Leader of founding Kinship Elenhilde on Meneldor[/color]

  10. #10
    Thanks!

    Maybe i will stay on forums a bit longer. Now if only that color scheme could be changed to somethink looking better at my screen...
    [charsig=http://lotrosigs.level3.turbine.com/2521c000000163bef/01003/signature.png]undefined[/charsig]
    Thank you, Turbine, for listening and giving us an opt-out of FE! Good work!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Hamilton, NY
    Posts
    3,699
    Quote Originally Posted by Hatter_of_Bree View Post
    Thanks!

    Maybe i will stay on forums a bit longer. Now if only that color scheme could be changed to somethink looking better at my screen...
    If you get the Stylish plugin for Firefox or Chrome you can customize it to look exactly how you want. I just kept it simple and changed all the gray text to white (little easier to read) but you should be able to do anything you want to do with it.
    [CENTER][IMG]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/tindragon/Base.png[/IMG]
    Steam: Sneakeh Snake[/CENTER]

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    The Shire, Canada
    Posts
    894
    Quote Originally Posted by Khafar View Post
    People have been complaining that there's no "Remember me" checkbox on the login page any longer, so I thought I'd share how to get your browser to remember them for you...

    First step for FireFox users only: bring up the Plug-ins page, search for "FireBug", and install it. You can disable or uninstall it later if you want.

    Then, read through these instructions once before starting just to speed things up when you do it. The login page "expires" after a few minutes, and you'll want to get these done before it does. You can Reload and try again if that happens:


    1. Bring up your browser, then press F12. This will bring up a developer tool window (IE, Chrome) or FireBug (FireFox).
    2. Leave that window up, then go to the LOTRO log in screen (logging out of the forums if you're currently logged in).
    3. In the developer window at the bottom, make sure you're looking at the HTML tab (IE, FireFox) or the Elements tab (Chrome).
    4. Search for the word "form" (no quotes) in the HTML. For IE and FireFox, there's a search box at the top right. For Chrome, type Ctrl-F and then see the search box at bottom left. Press "Next" a few times until you get to a line in the HTML which starts with '<form id="login"'.
    5. Note that the line you're on has 'autocomplete="off"' in it. You want to change this. Click or double-click on the "off", and change it to "on".
    6. Now you're ready to log in. Do so up above, and when your browser asks you if you want to remember your credentials, say yes.

    This will only need to be done once as long as you never clear all of your remembered passwords.

    Khafar
    Thank you Khafar!

    +rep (must time warp to last week first though)
    [URL=http://smg.photobucket.com/user/JayDeeHobbit/media/LOTROs-1.jpg.html][IMG]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v689/JayDeeHobbit/LOTROs-1.jpg~original[/IMG][/URL]
    [color=limegreen][b]Wulfgrim Ghastban, Hrothwine and Galdrefyst of Rohan - Peckish of the Shire -- Riddermark[/b][/color]
    “I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend” JRRT

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    33
    Thanks a lot, this just removed one thing that annoys me. Seeing stupid "sign up" page every time I want to check for lotteries is another one.
    [IMG]http://i43.tinypic.com/6f2j9j.jpg[/IMG]

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    The Shire, Canada
    Posts
    894
    Quote Originally Posted by Khafar View Post
    This will only need to be done once as long as you never clear all of your remembered passwords.
    I use IE 10 and it gets reset to "off" every time I exit Explorer.

    Ah well... thanks for the info anyways.
    [URL=http://smg.photobucket.com/user/JayDeeHobbit/media/LOTROs-1.jpg.html][IMG]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v689/JayDeeHobbit/LOTROs-1.jpg~original[/IMG][/URL]
    [color=limegreen][b]Wulfgrim Ghastban, Hrothwine and Galdrefyst of Rohan - Peckish of the Shire -- Riddermark[/b][/color]
    “I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend” JRRT

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    436
    Quote Originally Posted by FittyBolger View Post
    I use IE 10 and it gets reset to "off" every time I exit Explorer.

    Ah well... thanks for the info anyways.

    I tried to set this up in IE 10 also and just could not get it to retain the "on" setting.
    No idea why it does that.............anyone have any ideas?
    [IMG]https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-OOGLYqiRemk/U2TxWOwnO6I/AAAAAAAACSE/bk3MyjILFJ0/w350-h120-no/LOTRO+Forums+Sig.jpg[/IMG]

    Fat, Fuzzy, & Disabled............life doesn't get any better!
    Kinship: Roxxi Manor

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    12,677
    Quote Originally Posted by FittyBolger View Post
    I use IE 10 and it gets reset to "off" every time I exit Explorer.
    Do you mean that you saved your credentials and IE10 won't show them because the web page loads with autocomplete="off" the next time you come to the forums? If so, I don't have a good way to overcome that besides telling you to try a different browser. Sorry. Chrome certainly offers to autofill if it's remembered your credentials at any point in the past (no matter what the page says on a reload), and I believe FF does too.

    Khafar

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    The Shire, Canada
    Posts
    894
    Quote Originally Posted by Khafar View Post
    Do you mean that you saved your credentials and IE10 won't show them because the web page loads with autocomplete="off" the next time you come to the forums? If so, I don't have a good way to overcome that besides telling you to try a different browser. Sorry. Chrome certainly offers to autofill if it's remembered your credentials at any point in the past (no matter what the page says on a reload), and I believe FF does too.

    Khafar
    That's correct Khafar.
    It is still quicker when logging in to hit cmd12 and search for "form" and quickly change it back to "on" = autocomplete still remembers my password and username.

    I did a search on other sites that use autocomplete and the HTML code is different on the site I checked so it might be just the specific way Turbine decided to code things.

    So it still makes login easier for me using the F12 + search each time so = thanks.
    [URL=http://smg.photobucket.com/user/JayDeeHobbit/media/LOTROs-1.jpg.html][IMG]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v689/JayDeeHobbit/LOTROs-1.jpg~original[/IMG][/URL]
    [color=limegreen][b]Wulfgrim Ghastban, Hrothwine and Galdrefyst of Rohan - Peckish of the Shire -- Riddermark[/b][/color]
    “I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend” JRRT

  18. #18
    Hmm, followed all the directions, but FireFox never asked me if I wanted to save my credentials. No idea if it worked...will have to wait 45 min and see, I guess. :P

    Edit: Had to go digging through some FF settings, got it to remember passwords.

    Edit: Browser will not retain the change to autocomplete. It keeps going back to "off," and I haven't even closed the browser. :/
    Last edited by Toramarthen; Aug 04 2013 at 10:54 PM.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    54
    Thanks a bunch for this. Hopefully we'll get it added back in as a proper feature eventually but this makes it a bit less annoying.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    The Highlands of Scotland
    Posts
    5,414
    This is partially working for me.

    It remembers my password, but it does not offer any autocompletion for my username.
    TANSTAAFL

  21. #21
    ty OP! Very simple fix for a really annoying problem.
    [url="http://oldtimersguild.com"] Old Timers Guild - All of the fun - None of the drama [/url]

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    690
    Id give your rep a boost, but since the rep system is gone... Well, just thanks a lot!
    Fordil of Landroval, Minstrel officer of The Alliance

    Check out my Guide for New Players: https://www.lotro.com/forums/showthread.php?507561-GUIDE-New-to-LOTRO-hints-and-tips

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    210
    This workaround helps, but I still have to go to the log in page and start typing my ID. I have the latest version of Firefox.
    We should log in automatically.
    With all the forums out there, Turbine does this. It's amazing. It must be first year software engineers doing this.
    [charsig=http://lotrosigs.level3.turbine.com/0520a0000000a1057/01008/signature.png]undefined[/charsig]

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    52
    I tried this some time ago, and as have been found out it didn't quite work on IE which I use. BUT yesterday the autocomplete started to work

    So either I can announce that this trick now works with IE.
    Or autocomplete had been made to works as it should by Turbine. In which case I would like to give them a big thanks.
    [CENTER][URL="http://www.riderofrohan.guildportal.com/"][IMG]http://www.djelle.dk/sig-ror.jpg?&id=5453329&txt1=Kalm%C3%B6%20Ardevar&txt3=Kinship%20Leader&rank=no[/IMG][/URL]
    Creator of [URL="http://www.djelle.dk/sig-lotro/"]Dynamic Signature Generator for LotRO Characters[/URL][/CENTER]

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    12,677
    Quote Originally Posted by Kalmo View Post
    Or autocomplete had been made to works as it should by Turbine. In which case I would like to give them a big thanks.
    Turbine removed the "autocomplete=off" from their login form, so now it works for everyone. In Chrome, the difference is a bit more subtle... because I had forced it to "autocomplete=off" once, I could click on my user name and Chrome would offer my user name in a menu, then fill in the password if I clicked on that. Now it arrives on the login page with both filled in, and I just have to press Submit.

    This thread is now thankfully obsolete.

    Khafar

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload