We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    2

    White screen after logging in

    Hi all, so I just downloaded LOTRO off Steam fine, and I have made an account and everything.
    Well my problem is that when I get to the world/server page I select a world and it takes me to a white screen, I still have my LOTRO cursor and can move it fine, but nothing happens from here.. its just stuck on a white screen, what do I do?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    2,725
    Quote Originally Posted by Kryseer View Post
    Hi all, so I just downloaded LOTRO off Steam fine, and I have made an account and everything.
    Well my problem is that when I get to the world/server page I select a world and it takes me to a white screen, I still have my LOTRO cursor and can move it fine, but nothing happens from here.. its just stuck on a white screen, what do I do?
    First I've head of this one...

    I assume you have a supported OS -- Lion or Mountain Lion -- Snow Leopard is not supported.

    See: http://lotro-wiki.com/index.php/Mac_Client
    for details.

    In theory, what is happening at that point in time... The Launcher is handing off to the Game Client.
    Account patching, userid/password validation and world selection are handled by the Launcher. The launcher hands the client a "ticket" and the client then loads the Character Selection screen....

    From "getting in line to connect," you first get a white screen, which should immediately (1-2 seconds) be replaced by a black screen which is overlaid with a green and brown graphic of Riders of Rohan charging an assortment of Warg-riders with a bunch of legal trademark info at the bottom.

    A couple of seconds later a similar screen is displayed with "downloading" information; followed by the WB/Turbine logos; followed by the first in-game promo display screen. That is followed by the "loading" screen, and finally the Character selection screen.

    The speed for all of this is pretty much dependent upon your own system... the display screens "mask" the fact that the setup with the Game servers takes some time. However, all of the graphics are already downloaded to your system and only need to be loaded into graphics memory from disk. The whole thing, for a new account should probably only take about 30 seconds.... unless you are having internet speed issues.
    Bill Magill Mac Player Founder/Lifetimer
    Old Timers Guild - Gladden

    Val - Man Minstrel (90)
    Valalin - Dwarf Minsrel (69)
    Valamar - Dwarf Hunter (105)
    Valdicta - Dwarf RK (105)
    Valhad - Elf LM (65)
    Valkeeper - Elf RK (86)
    Valwood - Dwarf RK (80)

    Valhunt - Dwarf Hunter (70)
    Valanne - Beorning (92)
    Ninth - Man Warden (65)

    "Laid back, not so serious, no drama.
    All about the fun!"


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Valamar View Post
    First I've head of this one...

    I assume you have a supported OS -- Lion or Mountain Lion -- Snow Leopard is not supported.

    See: http://lotro-wiki.com/index.php/Mac_Client
    for details.

    In theory, what is happening at that point in time... The Launcher is handing off to the Game Client.
    Account patching, userid/password validation and world selection are handled by the Launcher. The launcher hands the client a "ticket" and the client then loads the Character Selection screen....

    From "getting in line to connect," you first get a white screen, which should immediately (1-2 seconds) be replaced by a black screen which is overlaid with a green and brown graphic of Riders of Rohan charging an assortment of Warg-riders with a bunch of legal trademark info at the bottom.

    A couple of seconds later a similar screen is displayed with "downloading" information; followed by the WB/Turbine logos; followed by the first in-game promo display screen. That is followed by the "loading" screen, and finally the Character selection screen.

    The speed for all of this is pretty much dependent upon your own system... the display screens "mask" the fact that the setup with the Game servers takes some time. However, all of the graphics are already downloaded to your system and only need to be loaded into graphics memory from disk. The whole thing, for a new account should probably only take about 30 seconds.... unless you are having internet speed issues.
    I believe I am supporting Mountain Lion, I have Mac OS X Version 10.8.2. I am confused with your answer, but all I get is the white screen, no loading or black screen or Riders of Rohan.. nothin. I just don't know what went wrong, I got it straight from Steam, took 1.5 days to download and an hour or so to install. So i'm not sure why I have problems..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    2,725
    Quote Originally Posted by Kryseer View Post
    I believe I am supporting Mountain Lion, I have Mac OS X Version 10.8.2. I am confused with your answer, but all I get is the white screen, no loading or black screen or Riders of Rohan.. nothin. I just don't know what went wrong, I got it straight from Steam, took 1.5 days to download and an hour or so to install. So i'm not sure why I have problems..
    I was attempting to describe the sequence of events involved in launching the client... i.e. what you should see.

    Your response here points at the likely problem... your internet connection speed.

    The download from Steam is quite quick. 2.5 - 3 hours for most broadband users in the Continental US. (It takes me just under 2 hours on a 15MB FIOS connection.)

    The Download from Turbine -- lotro.com -- is dramatically slower. It uses PMB and takes me over 30 hours!

    The install sounds about right time-wise... once the installer is downloaded, it takes about another hour to "unpack" the contents.

    What kind of connection to the Internet do you have? What speed?

    The white screen is correct... at that point a dialog begins between your client and the Turbine servers to setup your game-play environment. To mask that dialog, a series of graphics are displayed locally on your machine. This dialog uses the UDP protocol, which means that if you have a "noisy" line... not just a slow one... you will have trouble.

    The next question then becomes -- what kind of a system are you using and how much memory does it have. You need at least 4GB of system memory to run. It can run in 2GB, but you will see lots of strange issues, much like this one. 8GB is better -- especially if you attempt to run any other applications at the same time -- things like Stickies, iTunes, etc. Launch "Activity Monitor" from "Applications/Utilities" -- click on "System Memory" at the bottom and see how much "green" i.e. Free memory you have BEFORE you try to launch LOTRO.

    The other local issue you might have is your hard disk. Any hard disk which is more than 50% full will fragment badly.
    LOTRO has several HUGE files. The .app file itself shows as about 22GB, but it is composed of a number of smaller, but large files. The main graphics file is 4.5GB!

    So, at startup, your local hard disk can slow down things.

    But, I suspect your problem has to do primarily with your connection speed.
    Bill Magill Mac Player Founder/Lifetimer
    Old Timers Guild - Gladden

    Val - Man Minstrel (90)
    Valalin - Dwarf Minsrel (69)
    Valamar - Dwarf Hunter (105)
    Valdicta - Dwarf RK (105)
    Valhad - Elf LM (65)
    Valkeeper - Elf RK (86)
    Valwood - Dwarf RK (80)

    Valhunt - Dwarf Hunter (70)
    Valanne - Beorning (92)
    Ninth - Man Warden (65)

    "Laid back, not so serious, no drama.
    All about the fun!"


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    6

    :'(

    i have the same problem ... i got Mountain Lion OS X V 10.8.4
    as soon as i log in it gets me a White Screen like the one the patch .. but it's black it doesn't saying anything
    and if i try to move it ... or even if i try to Cancel it i cant .. it's Frozen ... i tried to let it for like 30minutes .. but nothing .. still the same nothing happens

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    2,725
    Quote Originally Posted by KevinDjnini View Post
    i have the same problem ... i got Mountain Lion OS X V 10.8.4
    as soon as i log in it gets me a White Screen like the one the patch .. but it's black it doesn't saying anything
    and if i try to move it ... or even if i try to Cancel it i cant .. it's Frozen ... i tried to let it for like 30minutes .. but nothing .. still the same nothing happens
    How much memory does your system have? You really need 4GB of RAM to get things to work, and if you are running other applications, 8GB.
    Bill Magill Mac Player Founder/Lifetimer
    Old Timers Guild - Gladden

    Val - Man Minstrel (90)
    Valalin - Dwarf Minsrel (69)
    Valamar - Dwarf Hunter (105)
    Valdicta - Dwarf RK (105)
    Valhad - Elf LM (65)
    Valkeeper - Elf RK (86)
    Valwood - Dwarf RK (80)

    Valhunt - Dwarf Hunter (70)
    Valanne - Beorning (92)
    Ninth - Man Warden (65)

    "Laid back, not so serious, no drama.
    All about the fun!"


 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload