We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.

Captain and grouping ?

Hi I'm a noob and I can't make my mind between making a guardian or a champion. The champion role described on the character creation page seem nice, but is it accurate ?

Poeple do want a captain in their group for the support it bring and they would rather have another DPS class ?

Also I'm a casual player and I've heard the game is mostly solo till level cap. Is the class solo friendly compared to a guard ?

Quote Originally Posted by varlak74 View Post
    Hi I'm a noob and I can't make my mind between making a guardian or a champion. The champion role described on the character creation page seem nice, but is it accurate ?

Poeple do want a captain in their group for the support it bring and they would rather have another DPS class ?

Also I'm a casual player and I've heard the game is mostly solo till level cap. Is the class solo friendly compared to a guard ?
    It's very solo friendly Varl. I can pretty much auto attack my way through 90% of this game's solo content right now. Captain's have solid damage, decent self-healing and good defense. It's a very well rounded class with no real weaknesses.

Far as grouping, unless you are raiding very few instances these days require support. Captains can function in a main-role capacity and do just fine. So you can pretty much take your pick at what you want to do, tank, dps, or heal.

I don't quite remember what the character creation screen says. The guardian's main role is to direct incoming damage onto himself and absorb as much of it as possible. The champion's main role is to deal as much damage to the enemy as possible. The captain's role is support, which involves a bunch of buffs, damage, and healing, shifing those priorities as the needs of the battle dictate.