We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.

Which classes for Explorer and Yeoman?

You were all so helpful when I asked about choosing guilds on my current characters that I'm back again with another question. I have five characters, and each belongs to a different crafting guild. At this point the only guilds I'm missing are Tailor and Cook, so I plan to make two more characters, an Explorer and a Yeoman for that purpose.

I'm pretty new to LotRO, just started in December, and I haven't played all the classes either--I haven't yet played a Minstrel, Warden, Lore-Keeper or Captain. Since I do want to try all the classes eventually, what are your recommendations on matching a class to a vocation? I know that there's nothing preventing me from creating any class/vocation combination, but I'd be interested in hearing about combinations that experienced players think go together particularly well, either conceptually or practically.

TIA!

Well, from that list, my suggestion would be that a Warden would make a good Explorer. You can craft your own armour and as you level up, the Warden travel ports would be very useful for porting all over the place, collecting different mats in different parts of Middle Earth to feed to your other crafters.

As far as a Yeoman - really anything would work for that; all classes need cooked food, and there is nothing, IMHO, which would make any one of those classes better or worse for farming and cooking. I'd say with that one, go with what you like.
    Galadhloth, Hunter 100, Glirithil, Mini 100, Calanor, LM 100, plus lots and lots of alts
    Watchers of Elendil ~ Landroval ~ Crickhollow ~ Tarciryan Knights
    ~~~~ Imladris in the Forgotten West ~~~~