We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.
Results 1 to 25 of 48

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Sapience is offline Former Community Manager & Harbinger of Soon
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9,518

    Character Copy - UNAVAILABLE

    Character Copy is currently UNAVAILABLE.
    Currently the former North American Servers are able to copy characters to Bullroarer.

    Please note, you may only copy 5 Characters.
    Characters that fail to copy will not be reset until a full wipe or reset is required by the team.
    If someone has already copied a character with the same name, your charcter's name may change.

    You can copy your character at this link: http://my.lotro.com/charactercopy
    Last edited by Sapience; Aug 16 2013 at 11:35 AM.

  2. #2
    Will former EU players be give the opportunity to copy their characters at any stage during the testing of this update?

  3. #3

    Angry

    Do NOT try to copy a character that you are logged on with, it will fail.
    Padraic L85 Race of Man Champion Brandywine Failed 2013-01-31 14:09:14

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    right behind you
    Posts
    3,414
    Quote Originally Posted by Padraic View Post
    Do NOT try to copy a character that you are logged on with, it will fail.
    Padraic L85 Race of Man Champion Brandywine Failed 2013-01-31 14:09:14
    you're suprised and angry at this? copy is an instant and automated process, why do you think that this can be done if you are logged into that character?
    The Usual Suspects, if you know us, you know why.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Sapience View Post
    Character Copy is currently AVAILABLE.
    Currently the former North American Servers are able to copy characters to Bullroarer.
    As far as I remember we were supposed to take turns, last Beta round was EEUU so it would be EU turn right now. But it's not.
    Are EU players going to be able to copy their characters at all in this Beta?

  6. #6
    Copy worked yesterday, use it today and it fails...great! perfect! I don't understand the point of not allowing a reattempt feature.
    Last edited by xDementedx; Jan 31 2013 at 04:42 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    UK - North East
    Posts
    97
    Once again North American servers get first shot, and probably the majority of the time to test as usual.

    Community service is horrendous.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Grams Rock - Complaining!
    Posts
    1,072
    Quote Originally Posted by Hydo5 View Post
    Once again North American servers get first shot, and probably the majority of the time to test as usual.

    Community service is horrendous.
    I woudnt worry about it Hydo, we can still make an 85 level toon easily enough, its not a huge issue.

    i would also say that the majority probably dont test anything all they do it copy there kin across and try out the new raids and OD so they can get a head start on launch day :-(

    No testing goes on really :-)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    285
    Quote Originally Posted by MessyR View Post
    I woudnt worry about it Hydo, we can still make an 85 level toon easily enough, its not a huge issue.

    i would also say that the majority probably dont test anything all they do it copy there kin across and try out the new raids and OD so they can get a head start on launch day :-(

    No testing goes on really :-)
    I tried making an autolevelled guard, it has 12k morale, some rather random auto-bestowed crafted armour, and basically quite shocking stats.

    I can't PUG the new instances on such a character. The best i can hope is that enough EU players get together and run the new instances below level, where the poor gear will matter less.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    666
    Quote Originally Posted by Sapience View Post
    Character Copy is currently AVAILABLE.
    Currently the former North American Servers are able to copy characters to Bullroarer.

    Please note, you may only copy 5 Characters.
    Characters that fail to copy will not be reset until a full wipe or reset is required by the team.
    If someone has already copied a character with the same name, your charcter's name may change.

    You can copy your character at this link: http://my.lotro.com/charactercopy
    I've been trying to copy characters over, but the link doesn't seem to be working right.

    Edit: I got it to work on Chrome, but on Explorer I got only gibberish.
    Last edited by Morat; Jan 31 2013 at 08:47 PM.

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Sapience View Post
    Character Copy is currently AVAILABLE.
    Still can't copy from Estel. This have been two years since the transfer.
    Starting from now: while still no copy, then no testing, no bug report.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Middle-Earth :D
    Posts
    467
    so we EU players are left out in the cold again??
    Former resident of Withywindle now settling in on Laurelin :D

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    226
    Quote Originally Posted by Mandura View Post
    so we EU players are left out in the cold again??
    Well, of course, why change now?

  14. #14

    RE character copy

    I understand that there are differences between the us and eu character data which causes problems when combining the two on one server.
    So wouldn't it keep both camps happy if there were two bullroarer servers, one for each region ?

  15. #15
    Well two servers would mean:
    - twice the costs
    - even less population than is on bullroarer now.. it's a very very small part of the playerbase that uses the test server
    - devs are already seldom, would be worse if this time is split between 2 servers

    But it is crucial to 1) have your created character deleted every time (why can't they just save it so that we don't have to repeat it every single update)
    2) be not able to transfer your character.. which would be the best to be able to test it on the equipment you normally run with, Half of the time on bullroarer I spend with getting equipment where I can say I'm not running naked and see atleast some effects of the changes. After that and a short look I'm off again since I know it will be gone anyways when bullroarer goes off again.

    There might be hundred other reasons and I can totally understand the request but I don't see it happening.

  16. #16

    Character copy

    so once i copy the character what do i do?

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    2,649
    Quote Originally Posted by Arasnuil View Post
    so once i copy the character what do i do?
    There is no reason to do anything yet.

    The Character Copy process is for Bullroarer testing only... you get to copy your choice of character ONE TIME per beta period (i.e. server reset) to Bullroarer so that you can use that toon for testing.

    At this time the server is down.

    One assumes that there will be a test period for 11.3 coming up... but maybe not... the next beta period may be for Update 12, Helm's Deep --- only Turbine knows and they have not sent out invitations yet for 12, and not loaded up 11.3... so (shrug) who knows?
    Bill Magill - Mac Player - Old Timers Guild- Gladden:

    Partial cast
    Valamar: Dwarf Hunter - Level 105
    Valdicta: Dwarf Rune-keeper - Level 105
    Valanne: Beorning - Level 91

  18. #18
    this isn't about this topic but while I was plying on the normal server I killed a brigade west of Bree and he dropped Bullroarer heavy gloves I was wondering if they related to the test server?

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    The Highlands of Scotland
    Posts
    5,414
    No.

    12345678
    [COLOR=Red][B]TANSTAAFL[/B][/COLOR]

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    2,649
    Quote Originally Posted by warlordjoyjoe View Post
    this isn't about this topic but while I was plying on the normal server I killed a brigand west of Bree and he dropped Bullroarer heavy gloves I was wondering if they related to the test server?
    You need to head over to Stock... in the Shire, and then up to Brockingborings (sp) ... there you will find a statue to Bullroarer Took, and the bits and pieces of his history and story.

    The server is named for him.
    Bill Magill - Mac Player - Old Timers Guild- Gladden:

    Partial cast
    Valamar: Dwarf Hunter - Level 105
    Valdicta: Dwarf Rune-keeper - Level 105
    Valanne: Beorning - Level 91

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload