We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.

Open Tapping Awareness

Dear Players of Crickhollow,

I have recently been attempting to complete several slayer deeds, one of which is "Brood Hunter" in the Northern Barrow-Downs, and it has come to my attention that a portion of the population here, at least in the lower levels, is not fully aware of "Open Tapping." Now, I'm fairly new to this game, only about a month in, but long enough to have seen the change to open tapping in the last patch. This is a glorious change that greatly assists in annoying quests and slayer deeds such as the aforementioned "Brood Slayer". It means, that even if you hit a mob once, you will still get full credit and loot, assuming you stay within the area.

While attempting this deed, I noticed a large amount of people that would ignore the mob I'm attacking, and run to the next one, as opposed to just attacking the mob I am currently attacking so as to get credit too. Now, I understand this habit will be difficult to overcome, considering that before such an action would have resulted in zero loot, zero xp, zero credit, and also construed as slightly rude. I ask of you to just poke my mob once, so you at least credit too. I have no issue with this, and I'm sure many others won't, but you are only hindering your progress by running past.

I am not asking for assistance or any of the sort, I'm just wanting to spread a little awareness on this. I can understand the desire to just mindlessly slaughter monsters without care of grouping or social interactions, but don't be afraid to hit a mob currently attacked.

I would love to see open tapping change the mindset of the our player base from a desire to claim monsters and more to a desire to assist, even if the sentiment behind it is less for kindness and just for self-interest.