We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.

Thread: Eorl's Hallow

Eorl's Hallow

Turbine's world-building, lore and language teams have done it again. While exploring Eastern Rohan you can find Eorl's Hallow, a memorial to the first king of the Mark. It is an unbelievable beautiful and lore-rich place that everyone as lore-fascinated should check out.

I'd like to share some pictures and transcriptions from the memorial. I have to admit, I'm a mathematician and not a linguist, so my transcription from Runic to Latin script is properly lacking. Lore and Tengwar, Quenya and Sindarin and I can master; but there is Old English to manage here. ;-)

The runes used are Futhorc (and can be found on other occasions throughout Rohan... Yes, this is a subtle clue). The stones depict the life of Eorl The Young, First King of the Mark. You can find the hallow a short ride south of Harwick/Feldburg/Fang Point in the Wold at 45.6S, 51.2W.

(oh and yes, I am very impatient and have compiled this during beta. I just barely managed to keep myself from posting until Rohan went live and everyone is able to adore this beautiful place :-) ).

Felarofes . yetemed . Leodes . wrecend

We see Eorl at young age taming Felaróf, first of the Mearas, the horse that has killed his father, Léod. Eorl demanded that Felaróf would serve him, avenging (wrecend) thus the death of his father (TA 2501).
    read . stræl . stanlendingas . laðung

The Red Arrow (read stræl) of Gondor is brought before Eorl summoning (laðung) him to aid the people of Gondor (stanlendingas, the Old English rendering from Sindarin "Gondor", Land of Stone) against the Balchoth (TA 2510). The messenger we see is Borondir, bearing a message from Cirion, who was Stewart of Gondor at that time.
    eoðeodes . rad . oferwadung . langflode