We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

The slide of the Loremaster into the Arsonmaster

When I started playing the Loremaster, many years ago, it was a good class. It was highly undervalued by those who eschewed the knowledge of their use and extremely valued by those who understood their potential. As Loremasters our role was clear, we provided CC and debuffs, we coped with wounds and diseases, we helped out with spot healing for morale and were of huge importance as batteries with power sharing. Last but not least, we had some damage skills and even those included little extras like slows and roots, stuns and debuffs - oh and let's not forget the pets.

This versatility of roles was taught and encouraged by group play at an early level, I remember fondly such things as Othrongroth and Weathertop being fun group instances on level. By the time a Loremaster reached level cap, they did, hopefully understand how they fit into a pivotal role within the group, as an excellent well rounded support class with numerous ways to quietly ease a fellowship or a raid through the different challenges that were presented.

I do completely understand why a lot of content, especially low-level content is now 100% soloable. The lack of low level characters within a kin or even for pugging would be a great handicap for those trying to move through small or full fellowship content during levelling. So, I'm not knocking that decision, per se - but the current system seems to be delivering any number of apparently incompetent Loremasters to endgame, with little to no idea of their purpose in life.