We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,461

    Item() Class Requests

    I would like to see some extensions to the Item class so we can get all the information related to an item. I would also like to be able to call an item by ID number and get the information from it whether it is in the players inventory or not. At the moment there is no way to do this without the item being physically in the players possession.

    e.g. MyGloves = Turbine.Gameplay.Item()
    MyGloves:SetItem(1879225033) -- or 7002B2C9, whichever is easier.

    I could then retrieve the item information (which would be more up-to-date than it's Lorebook counterpart).

    Code:
    MYITEM:GetID() -- Returns item ID e.g. 1879225033 or 7002B2C9
    MYITEM:GetName() -- Returns item name e.g. Gloves of the Iordúr
    MYITEM:GetLevel() -- Returns item level (not to be confused with required level)
    MYITEM:GetType() -- Returns item type e.g Light Armour, Medium Armour or Heavy Armour
    MYITEM:GetQuality() -- Returns item quality e.g. Incomparable, rare etc.
    MYITEM:IsItemAdvancement() -- Returns true or false
    MYITEM:GetStackSize() -- Returns the stack size 
    MYITEM:IsBindOnAcquire() -- Returns true or false
    MYITEM:IsBindOnEquip() -- Returns true or false
    MYITEM:IsConsumedOnUse() -- Returns true or false
    MYITEM:GetCooldown() -- Returns the items use cooldown if there is one
    MYITEM:GetIcon() -- Returns the items icon ID
    MYITEM:GetCategory() -- Returns the items category, e.g. Hands, Legs etc.
    
    MYITEM:GetRequirements() -- Returns a table value with item requirements, such as class, rank, level, faction.
    REQ:GetMinimumLevel() -- Returns the minimum level e.g. 75 REQ:GetGloryRank() -- Returns the rank required REQ:GetTraits() -- Returns the traits required REQ:GetRaces() -- Returns the races required REQ:GetClasses() -- Returns the classes required REQ:GetFactions() -- Returns the factions required
    MYITEM:GetValue() -- Returns the base copper value, e.g. 2097 (20s 97c) MYITEM:GetDurabilityPoints() -- Returns the durability points e.g. 30 MYITEM:GetDurabilityType() -- Returns the durability type, e.g. Normal, Tough MYITEM:GetArmourValue() -- Returns the armour value MYITEM:GetEffects() -- Returns a table with the item stats and effects.
    e.g. {"+101 Will","+27 Fate","+81 Vitality","+282 Tactical Mastery Rating"}
    MYITEM:GetSet() -- Returns a table with the set information for the item, or nil if not part of a set.
    SET:GetName() -- Returns the set name. e.g. "Armour of the Iordúr" SET:GetLevel() -- Returns the set level. SET:GetIDs() -- Returns a table listing the IDs for each piece in the set..
    e.g. {1879225010,1879225016,1879225021,1879225033,1879225050,1879225056}
    SET:GetEffects() -- Returns a table listing the set stats & effects e.g.
    [2] = {"+34 Will","+352 Critical Rating"} -- Where the number [2] referes to the number of pieces required. [3] = {"-60 Call to the Valar Cooldown"} [4] = {"+352 Tactical Mastery Rating"} [5] = {"+5 Blinding Flash Duration"}
    [CENTER][SIZE=3][B]Galuhad | Narvelan[/B]
    Lore Breakers of Eldar[/SIZE]

    [URL="http://www.lotrointerface.com/list.php?skinnerid=3762"]Plugins[/URL] | [URL="https://www.lotro.com/forums/showthread.php?538975-Accounts-for-New-Players"]New Player Guide[/URL] | [URL="http://www.twitch.tv/galuhad"]Twitch[/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,191

    Re: Item() Class Requests

    I don't think Turbine will ever let us create a Turbine.Gameplay:Item() instance for an item that is not in inventory simply to eliminate the chance of a bug or exploit allowing players to create actual instances of items. An alternative option would be a separate object class, Turbine.Gameplay.ItemInfo which could have methods to retrieve all of the data for an item without the possible risk of an actual item instance being accessed, either by a bug or other means. This would provide authors with all the info they need without exposing the game client to possible exploits.

  3. #3

    Re: Item() Class Requests

    Quote Originally Posted by Garan View Post
    I don't think Turbine will ever let us create a Turbine.Gameplay:Item() instance for an item that is not in inventory simply to eliminate the chance of a bug or exploit allowing players to create actual instances of items. An alternative option would be a separate object class, Turbine.Gameplay.ItemInfo which could have methods to retrieve all of the data for an item without the possible risk of an actual item instance being accessed, either by a bug or other means. This would provide authors with all the info they need without exposing the game client to possible exploits.
    To be fair, one of the (very few) advantages of having Lua be tacked-on, as opposed to the language which the entire UI runs on, is the native ability to provide access to only what is allowed. In other words, in order for any function to actually work, they have to specify the "bridge" code that translates the Lua end into something the actual interface/game can understand. So if the bridge isn't there that performs the necessary communication to give you a specific item, it won't happen - no matter what you do in Lua.
    [CENTER][IMG]http://i.imgur.com/wK9A7aa.png[/IMG]

    [SIZE=1][B][COLOR=white]75[/COLOR][/B] Fourohfour | [B][COLOR=white]75[/COLOR][/B] Artemedis | [COLOR=Blue][B]60[/B][/COLOR] Whiskeytango Foxtrot | [B][COLOR=#00ca00]50[/COLOR][/B] Mistah Boombastic | [B][COLOR=#00ca00]56[/COLOR][/B] Appetizer | [B][COLOR=#a7a7a7]25[/COLOR][/B] Aggromi | [B][COLOR=blue]61[/COLOR][/B] Onepointtwentyone Gigawatts [/SIZE] [/CENTER]

  4. #4

    Re: Item() Class Requests

    I'd really like to see methods that allow us to query and set the vendor lock on an item. Being able to change the lock would allow me to set the lock so that I can easily do a "sell all" at vendors. I think that this would be a small change with a lot of benefit (and low risk).

    something like:

    Item:IsLocked()
    Item:SetLocked(boolean)

    would be all that is needed.

    Naturally it should only be able to lock and unlock items in your own inventory or on your character. The same restrictions as being able to move an item.


    Kam
    [charsig=http://lotrosigs.level3.turbine.com/0420800000006abda/01006/signature.png]Kamindra[/charsig]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,461
    I'm going to come back to this again.

    Now that we have an item info control with RoR and can create item info instances with the craft recipe API. Can we please have some way of using item IDs to create an item info instance. This way it doesn't need to be an item in the players inventory as it's something that can only be used in this control - not set in a quickslot.

    myiteminfo = Turbine.Gameplay.ItemInfo(1879 225033)

    myiteminfocontrol:SetItemInfo( myiteminfo)

    and also the reverse, to be able to get an item ID from an item [info] instance.

    The item IDs are really useful and we already can obtain them a number of ways, but this would be perfectly straight forward instead of going around the houses to get them.
    [CENTER][SIZE=3][B]Galuhad | Narvelan[/B]
    Lore Breakers of Eldar[/SIZE]

    [URL="http://www.lotrointerface.com/list.php?skinnerid=3762"]Plugins[/URL] | [URL="https://www.lotro.com/forums/showthread.php?538975-Accounts-for-New-Players"]New Player Guide[/URL] | [URL="http://www.twitch.tv/galuhad"]Twitch[/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Ravenburg
    Posts
    92
    Quote Originally Posted by Kamindra View Post
    I'd really like to see methods that allow us to query and set the vendor lock on an item. Being able to change the lock would allow me to set the lock so that I can easily do a "sell all" at vendors. I think that this would be a small change with a lot of benefit (and low risk).

    something like:

    Item:IsLocked()
    Item:SetLocked(boolean)

    would be all that is needed.

    Naturally it should only be able to lock and unlock items in your own inventory or on your character. The same restrictions as being able to move an item.


    Kam
    1 year delay on this answer but... that feature has been in the game since forever.

    1: Hold down alt key and use left click to select an item.
    2: press Ctrl + T to lock or unlock that item.
    Once, i was the first player in Riddermark with Ivar's Champion title 24/24.
    http://www.lotrointerface.com/downlo...nalStrats.html

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,461
    Now that we've done away with data.lotro.com and the lorebook, there is literally no easy way for me to maintain the items database used in the Tulkas plugin. I just don't have the time to go through all the items available in the game to keep it up-to-date, and whilst there is the ability to add items manually, I'm finding less and less people are taking advantage of this useful tool because it's too much hassle to enter the item stats themselves. In the past I would mine all the data from data.lotro.com but this just isn't an option anymore.

    Please, I am begging, can we get a more in-depth API for the item class (as listed above). It would make adding items to the Tulkas database a lot less laborious, not just for myself but for the players who use it. At the moment, to add an item to the database, I literally have to get the item ID (from chat-logging or drag-dropping an item) then manually enter the stat values, categories, levels etc for each item, which is extremely time consuming. If there was someway of automating this then the task becomes a lot simpler.

    Now with Helms Deep just around the corner, there will be no end-level items in this plugin's database, and the reasons to use it are growing less and less.
    [CENTER][SIZE=3][B]Galuhad | Narvelan[/B]
    Lore Breakers of Eldar[/SIZE]

    [URL="http://www.lotrointerface.com/list.php?skinnerid=3762"]Plugins[/URL] | [URL="https://www.lotro.com/forums/showthread.php?538975-Accounts-for-New-Players"]New Player Guide[/URL] | [URL="http://www.twitch.tv/galuhad"]Twitch[/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Saelyth. View Post
    1 year delay on this answer but... that feature has been in the game since forever.

    1: Hold down alt key and use left click to select an item.
    2: press Ctrl + T to lock or unlock that item.
    Also a year late - from me this time I know about that functionality - I'd like to be able to script it. that way I can programatically make sure that all the items I want to sell are unlocked, and everything I want to keep is locked. This is a direct route to a simple way to sell junk, as the "sell all" command at any vendor will only sell unlocked items...


    Now that I am back in the game for Helms Deep, I'm hoping this functionality will be available!


    Kam
    [charsig=http://lotrosigs.level3.turbine.com/0420800000006abda/01006/signature.png]Kamindra[/charsig]

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,461
    I am really excited! I've worked out a way to turn an item ID (say 1879206700) into an item instance which allows me to get all the information currently available for that item (name, quality etc). Yay! Finally I have ItemInfoControls in Tulkas 2 that function properly, without using a greyed-out quickslot. Items are easily linked to chat without an /alias, and can be tried on in the dressing room etc. Now I've managed to overcome this one hurdle, the next one would be for the ItemInfo to return more information about the item (basically everything about the item). If someone could manage this little update I would love them forever and ever. It would make the world of difference in maintaining the Tulkas database.

    Pretty please with lots of lashings of cream and cherries on top

    Some images showing the ItemInfoControls working from item ID.. (ignore the ugly interfacing, it's still in development lol)




    Last edited by Galuhad; Feb 12 2014 at 06:42 AM.
    [CENTER][SIZE=3][B]Galuhad | Narvelan[/B]
    Lore Breakers of Eldar[/SIZE]

    [URL="http://www.lotrointerface.com/list.php?skinnerid=3762"]Plugins[/URL] | [URL="https://www.lotro.com/forums/showthread.php?538975-Accounts-for-New-Players"]New Player Guide[/URL] | [URL="http://www.twitch.tv/galuhad"]Twitch[/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  10. #10
    Could you please post the code snippet that does this?


    Thanks in advance,

    Kamindra
    [charsig=http://lotrosigs.level3.turbine.com/0420800000006abda/01006/signature.png]Kamindra[/charsig]

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload