We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Is buying a house even worth it?

So I've been playing for about 8 months now, and I'm well past level 15 and haven't bought a house yet, simply because I'm always questioning if it's worth it.

If I were to get a house, the initial price of 1g or whatever it is for a standard wouldn't hurt, but it's the upkeep that bugs me. I mean, ~50s a week? And I know you can pay it about a month in advance, but is ~200s a month just to have your own customized space/storage worth it? Especially because during the school year, I play maybe once every few weeks, if not less.

So...is it really worth it??

EDIT******

I see a lot of people saying, yes, it is good if you have a lot of alts (which I do) and all of your reasons seem valid, but here's my #1 problem:

Upkeep is tracked in real time. What happens if I have a really busy month at school and I don't play for awhile? I have been known to not be on for a month and sometimes more. I love LOTRO, and I play it as much as I can, but I have to put college first. I want to be able to come back after a month and a half of playing and still have everything as it was when I last logged in.

With that in mind...still worth it?
    Last edited by Rippedearth; Nov 18 2011 at 12:57 PM.

Re: Is buying a house even worth it?

If you have several alts and don't own Shared Storage, then I'd say it's worth it. Otherwise, there's really no other benefit, unless you just really love the aesthetics of it all.
    [charsig=http://lotrosigs.level3.turbine.com/0520a00000023b1be/01008/signature.png]undefined[/charsig]

each person is different. By the time you get to level 65 50 silver is nothing. Long before that 50 silvers is nothing. I typically spend 100 silvers or more a night on stable rides.