We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    On the high road,..up there
    Posts
    1,196

    I just must address this one thing...

    Please, those in charge of this forum,...please try to speed it up. Over 6 months now and its still taking me on my high speed internet between 15 to 25 seconds to access a page here.

    I wont mention the other features this site had avail that are now not working or are not working correctly. It isnt a lot of fun to have once had a snappy forum access and now to have lost it and seeing no progress mentioned towards a remedy. Otherwise I have no major complaints. thank you.
    [URL="http://s985.photobucket.com/user/Nibli/media/1267dd37-16f8-412a-b078-df2bffa19539_zpsd8a642b2.jpg.html"][IMG]http://i985.photobucket.com/albums/ae340/Nibli/1267dd37-16f8-412a-b078-df2bffa19539_zpsd8a642b2.jpg[/IMG][/URL]
    Landroval Server
    Officer of The Lonely Mountain Band
    Whilst cooking for Elevensies, Tinki floors 2 Orcs with her frying pan and fresh caught fish. The frying pan critted for 18 hp and the fish was extra tender afterwards.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    4 Wending Way, Turtledown, Shire Homesteads, Brandywine
    Posts
    836

    Re: I just must address this one thing...

    Says beta at the top for a reason. That way nothing has to be fixed.
    [URL="http://khazad.guildlaunch.com/index.php?gid=104764"]Khazad Fundinul[/URL]
    [URL="http://my.lotro.com/character/brandywine/waldemar/"] Captain - Waldemar [/URL] | [URL="http://my.lotro.com/character/brandywine/bazurt/"]RK - Bazurt[/URL] | [URL="http://my.lotro.com/character/brandywine/bregmon/"]Champ - Bregmon [/URL]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    6,909

    Re: I just must address this one thing...

    There's also the fact that this doesn't happen to everyone equally.

    For example, I have had no problems with the forums, and subsequent community areas, loading in under 10 seconds (top-end time on MyLOTRO, but that's standard of WordPress with a huge amount of plugins, average is about a second for the forums). Without knowing why some people have issues and others do not, it's difficult to fix something effectively.
    Give a guy a pound of gold...he'll complain about how heavy it is.
    Enmity of Forum Trolls: 106/5000 Of the Egaads clan


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    12,677

    Re: I just must address this one thing...

    Yeah, most of the time I don't have performance issues with the forums anymore either. Of course, it helps that I have pretty decent bandwidth (8Mbps) and quit using IE8 (which has a pathetically slow JavaScript engine - use IE9, FF, or Chrome instead). It also helped a lot when I turned off player signatures... if you run a web page analyzer on these forums, you'll find that character sigs account for over 50% of the download.

    What would help some more? If Turbine were to let us customize the tabs and menus at the top of each page so we could chuck most of it. They represent a ton of HTML "overhead" for every page, and they could probably optimize their own JavaScript too - there's no way that every forum user needs to have 350KB of custom JavaScript loaded. Let us turn off features so we can lighten that a good deal.

    Khafar

  5. #5

    Re: I just must address this one thing...

    No problems here...
    [charsig=http://lotrosigs.level3.turbine.com/0320200000037f283/01008/signature.png]undefined[/charsig]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    226

    Re: I just must address this one thing...

    For me the worst part is when you click on a thread and the forum thinks you signed out so it sends you back to the main page than you click on it again and it realizes you never signed out so it sends you back to the main page.
    [charsig=http://lotrosigs.level3.turbine.com/02204010000150512/signature.png]Terrorarrow[/charsig]

    Freepside pvmp- For when your just not smart enough for WoW.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    430

    Re: I just must address this one thing...

    I just don't understand the insistence of using Vbulletin forum software. It's a slow and clunky system and has been for a long time, a better way to go would have Invision power boards, their software is fast, lightweight, and very easy to customize.It also wouldn't require so much script for these menus they insist on having at the top.
    [CENTER][B]Brandywine[/B]
    [URL="http://my.lotro.com/home/character/1420476/144678138032277804/"]Airadis - Loremaster[/URL] | [URL="http://my.lotro.com/home/character/1420476/144678138032259216/"]Airaeth - Hunter[/URL] | [URL="http://my.lotro.com/home/character/1420476/144678138032422006/"]Carabell - Burgler[/URL] | [URL="http://my.lotro.com/home/character/1420476/144678138032338681/"]Lilymaebell - Warden[/URL] | [URL="http://my.lotro.com/home/character/1420476/144678138032267848/"]Lirraneth - Minstrel[/URL] | [URL="http://my.lotro.com/home/character/1420476/144678138032382543/"]Sharlean - Captian[/URL] | [URL="http://my.lotro.com/home/character/1420476/144678138032260593/"]Wynterarwyn - Runekeeper[/URL][/CENTER]

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,800

    Re: I just must address this one thing...

    Quote Originally Posted by Efol View Post
    For me the worst part is when you click on a thread and the forum thinks you signed out so it sends you back to the main page than you click on it again and it realizes you never signed out so it sends you back to the main page.
    I agree with that, but I also dislike the navigation issues where you have to click a link multiple times to go where you want. For example, when I am on my Lottery page, I have to click the Forums tab several times to get to the Forums, otherwise it just refreshes the Lottery page. I also find the forums a lot slower than other forums I frequent, including other vBulletin forums.

  9. #9

    Re: I just must address this one thing...

    I am intreagued by one point....."...my high speed internet..."
    What is your ACTUAL speed? I play from the UK on US servers, I rarely have any lag here or in game. I DO have high speed. I have a fibre optic connection that actually runs as 18 mbts ( nominal is "upto" 20)
    Run a speed test for me and see what your connestion speed really is....then complain about lag

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    12,677

    Re: I just must address this one thing...

    Quote Originally Posted by MrsAngelD View Post
    I just don't understand the insistence of using Vbulletin forum software...
    Probably because switching over to another system would be tons more work than upgrading to the latest vBulletin. It's pretty rare that I've seen a large commercial forum make such a switch - they tend to make that choice once, and then live with it.

    Oh, and this "law" from the Laws of Online World Design would apply to game forums as well:

    Pleasing your Players

    Despite your best intentions, any change will be looked upon as a bad change to a large percentage of your players. Even those who forgot they asked for it to begin with.

    I'll absolutely guarantee that they'd catch a lot of flack for moving to a whole new set of forum software, and that people would start petitions demanding that they go back to the old stuff. Even from some of those currently complaining about the "old stuff" (because they liked the even-older stuff better).

    Khafar

  11. #11

    Re: I just must address this one thing...

    Mine is getting better. But if I try to open the lorebook in-game it basically makes my computer (i7 processor, 6 gigs ram etc) explode. The character sheets that show what skills at what level in the lorebook are terrible (they slow down everything).
    [center]Dum spiro, spero - Cicero
    Alexandrov, R9
    Stanimir, R7
    Kollontai, noob
    [/center]

  12. #12

    Re: I just must address this one thing...

    Not really any speed problems for me. I do have to click on the forums twice to enter since the first time it'll just reload the home page. I'd say your internet isn't as fast as you think. 'high speed internet' means many things to internet companies. For example 'high speed lite', available from many service providers, is only about 10x faster than dial-up. Also what browser are you using. IE is the absolute slowest, Firefox is quicker, Google Chrome is the fastest I've used.

  13. #13

    Re: I just must address this one thing...

    Quote Originally Posted by MrsAngelD View Post
    I just don't understand the insistence of using Vbulletin forum software.
    It is too costly to change. It would upset the users.

    You have a situation where Turbine pays an annual fee for forum software. They use the software to support three public forums - one for each live game. Unknown number of internal uses that are private.

    Turbine spent a lot of money beyond the software cost for servers, hands on training of staff to install, maintain, customize and integrate their forums with their other software apps.

    In order to switch, they got to get more servers, buy the new software and do the customization and all that. They are paying for all work a second time. Finally they will live launch the servers. There will be missing functionality - remember F2P launch.

    Unhappy users because it does not have the same look and feel. It is not the same forum software.

    Essentially, Turbine spent a huge amount of money to accomplish nothing if they did it right. Or spent a huge amount of money to have less functionality, lower up time and other issues.

    Companies once they make a decision. Go with it. It is almost impossible to change unless the app they have becomes non-usable. For example, they have to buy new servers with a new OS because the old ones are wearing out. It will not run on the new OS and servers. They can not get an update from the vendor.

    One of the companies I was working for - a big multinational was using OS2. Microsoft wanted us to switch to Windows. We would not do it. Microsoft worked out a deal. They sent over a hundred Microsoft developers to work with us for months. They would look at each of our apps. They would help us change each app. Modify Windows as necessary so that it would work. Microsoft must have spent several thousand staff months of effort to get our business.

    Mind you, it was really good for Microsoft too. Now they had a version of Windows that worked for us. They could take it to the next customer. It works for xxxx company. What do we need to do to get your business?

    What Microsoft did to reduce our pain. You rarely get a vendor willing to invest this kind of money.
    Unless stated otherwise, all content in this post is My Personal Opinion.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2,766

    Re: I just must address this one thing...

    Oh, if only there were a forum dedicated to the Community Forum, where users could provide feedback and suggestions....

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload