We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.

Hybrid View

New Player Guides

Hey there,

If you're a new LOTRO player there's a good chance you've got a lot of questions. Some of those questions can be answered here in the New Player Questions forum and some can even be answered in-game with the Advice channel. However, we're also building a selection of New Player Guides for classes, the LOTRO Store and more -- all scheduled to release over the coming weeks.

You can find the New Player Guide hub here and our Eight Essential MMO Terms guide here!
    Last edited by FordyTwo; Jan 10 2011 at 05:34 PM.
    Kyle "FordyTwo" Horner
    "I want to go back to being weird. I like being weird. Weird is all I've got. That and my sweet style." -Moss

Re: New Player Guides

Good afternoon,

I signed up fr the game, and this is my first time playing it after it is "free to play." I downloaded, however, I cannot create a character. It says that when I sing up I have two character slots. However, as I said before, I cannot create any characters.

Can anyone help me with this issue?

Thank you.

Some people who are using DirectX 10 or 11 are experiencing this issue. On the character screen, click the Options button, and under Graphics change it to DirectX9. Save it, then quite LotRO and restart the client. Hopefully it will work for you after that.
    <<Insert clever sig here>>

I have a quest that want me to do an emoticon but i don't know how to do them.

do i need to download pando media booster to download the game? i tried the regular link when i first sign up but it was on starting download for a while so i closed my browser to try again. i went back and found i couldn't use that button anymore...so i went to the download page and clicked on high resolution download, will the game still work that way?