We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.
Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    115

    Re-installing lotro...

    Ok, so my hard drive is shot and i'm getting a new one, gonna reinstall lotro - is it gonna say that the CD key is in use because i did not get the chance to uninstall it from my last hard drive?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    468

    Re: Re-installing lotro...

    I wouldn't think so.

    I never did anything with a cd key, I downloaded the client. I can't imagine they would bother coding some kind of cd key check into retail copies of the game, when the account and password check is done when you login to the game servers anyways.

    It's done for single player games much more commonly.

    You might have a bit of patching to do if your cd is old. Depending on how old, it might actually be faster to just download an updated client from Turbine instead of letting the patcher try to update your copy.
    [charsig=http://lotrosigs.level3.turbine.com/04208000000181e2f/01005/signature.png]undefined[/charsig]
    "Now I myself prefer battles of trickery to those of the blade when dealing with fellows thrice my height and one-tenth my wit..." -Lithuifin, Healer of The Eavespires

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Posts
    476

    Re: Re-installing lotro...

    The CD key is attached to your account. Just install the game and login to your account.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    115

    Re: Re-installing lotro...

    Thank you both for the quick replies i'm less worried now

    -Fall

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    261

    Re: Re-installing lotro...

    If you were to install from the original discs, the game would take FOREVER to patch up.

    I strongly recommend just re-downloading the full game.

    --Akkim

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    115

    Re: Re-installing lotro...

    Quote Originally Posted by IamAkkim View Post
    If you were to install from the original discs, the game would take FOREVER to patch up.

    I strongly recommend just re-downloading the full game.

    --Akkim
    I'd be installing from the Moria disks.

    Would it cost money to re-download the whole game? any link you can give me to show me how?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    468

    Re: Re-installing lotro...

    http://www.lotro.com/

    On the left side, click the big download now button.

    Oh if you get the advertisement to buy the game now for 29.99 just click the button to continue to lotro.com

    Edit: http://www.lotro.com/support/download-lotro

    There's a better link.
    [charsig=http://lotrosigs.level3.turbine.com/04208000000181e2f/01005/signature.png]undefined[/charsig]
    "Now I myself prefer battles of trickery to those of the blade when dealing with fellows thrice my height and one-tenth my wit..." -Lithuifin, Healer of The Eavespires

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    115

    Re: Re-installing lotro...

    Quote Originally Posted by Tobiasfrost View Post
    http://www.lotro.com/

    On the left side, click the big download now button.

    Oh if you get the advertisement to buy the game now for 29.99 just click the button to continue to lotro.com

    Edit: http://www.lotro.com/support/download-lotro

    There's a better link.
    Ohh, cool, thanks!

    So that's the full game, up to Volume 3? - how long do you think it will take? (estimated)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    261

    Re: Re-installing lotro...

    Quote Originally Posted by dec07 View Post
    Ohh, cool, thanks!

    So that's the full game, up to Volume 3? - how long do you think it will take? (estimated)
    On cablemode, the full download takes 10-11 hours.. which is actually probably faster than patching up from MoM =)

    --Akkim

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    115

    Re: Re-installing lotro...

    Quote Originally Posted by IamAkkim View Post
    On cablemode, the full download takes 10-11 hours.. which is actually probably faster than patching up from MoM =)

    --Akkim
    Ok, that's not as bad as i thought. Thank you for the help

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,113

    Re: Re-installing lotro...

    What everyone here is telling you is right on the money. No need to worry about your account and Product Key....it's safely stored on Turbines servers.

    All you need to do is install, patch up, download the various Microsoft packages that LOTRO requires (.NET Framework, C++ Redistributables, etc.), ...don't forget your video drivers.

    After that, just log in and play.

    .

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    115

    Re: Re-installing lotro...

    Quote Originally Posted by Muddyfoot View Post
    What everyone here is telling you is right on the money. No need to worry about your account and Product Key....it's safely stored on Turbines servers.

    All you need to do is install, patch up, download the various Microsoft packages that LOTRO requires (.NET Framework, C++ Redistributables, etc.), ...don't forget your video drivers.

    After that, just log in and play.

    .
    As for information on the account, like in-game stiff. Are my characters affected at all? dumb question i know

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Posts
    476

    Re: Re-installing lotro...

    Nothing ingame is affected

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    115

    Re: Re-installing lotro...

    Quote Originally Posted by Rhoric View Post
    Nothing ingame is affected
    Ok thank you!!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    357

    Re: Re-installing lotro...

    Just wondering is there a way to install the game with the default CD then copy paste the whole big dat files from another computer/archive then update it?

    Actually I need to upgrade both my computer and my wife one and I just cant imagine the hassle of downloading and reinstalling everything from scratch :|

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,721

    Re: Re-installing lotro...

    Quote Originally Posted by Arnwalden View Post
    Just wondering is there a way to install the game with the default CD then copy paste the whole big dat files from another computer/archive then update it?

    Actually I need to upgrade both my computer and my wife one and I just cant imagine the hassle of downloading and reinstalling everything from scratch :|
    You don't even need to install, copy then entire Turbine folder over, run TurbineRegisterGDF.exe from 'The Lord of the Rings Online' folder and you are done.

    Might want to create a desktop shortcut but the game will be patched to the point the game you copied from was.

    If you copy over 'The Lord of the Rings ONline' folder from 'My Documents' all the UI tweaks and such will be there also.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    357

    Re: Re-installing lotro...

    Quote Originally Posted by chuimon View Post
    You don't even need to install, copy then entire Turbine folder over, run TurbineRegisterGDF.exe from 'The Lord of the Rings Online' folder and you are done.

    Might want to create a desktop shortcut but the game will be patched to the point the game you copied from was.

    If you copy over 'The Lord of the Rings ONline' folder from 'My Documents' all the UI tweaks and such will be there also.
    Awesomeness you are my hero!

    /bow

  18. #18

    Re: Re-installing lotro...

    Quote Originally Posted by chuimon View Post
    You don't even need to install, copy then entire Turbine folder over, run TurbineRegisterGDF.exe from 'The Lord of the Rings Online' folder and you are done.

    Might want to create a desktop shortcut but the game will be patched to the point the game you copied from was.

    If you copy over 'The Lord of the Rings ONline' folder from 'My Documents' all the UI tweaks and such will be there also.
    Quote Originally Posted by Arnwalden View Post
    Awesomeness you are my hero!

    /bow
    hehe mine too, new PC coming this week and that info is very useful and timely

  19. #19
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    115

    Re: Re-installing lotro...

    Hey guys, i installed lotro from the website downloaded, installed everything - but can't find the icon or it in my programs? any ideas?

    -Fall

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    261

    Re: Re-installing lotro...

    Quote Originally Posted by dec07 View Post
    Hey guys, i installed lotro from the website downloaded, installed everything - but can't find the icon or it in my programs? any ideas?

    -Fall
    What version of Windows? Windows 7?

    Start -> GAMES

    Odds are the icon got hijacked into Microsofts new "Game Center" semi-applet =)

    --Akkim

  21. #21
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    115

    Re: Re-installing lotro...

    Quote Originally Posted by IamAkkim View Post
    What version of Windows? Windows 7?

    Start -> GAMES

    Odds are the icon got hijacked into Microsofts new "Game Center" semi-applet =)

    --Akkim
    Yeah, i found it last night, thanks

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload