We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    In the dark behind a chair.
    Posts
    130

    Wink ~*~*~( System Specs )~*~*~

    What kind of rig are you running for LOTRO?
    What is your login time?


    Desktop Specs

    Login Time-(8secs) (From cold boot) (Skip-ed info pages with Esc)
    CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 965 OCed 4.8Ghz on water block.
    RAM: 16GBs of DDR3 OCed 2000Mhz.
    MOBO: ASUS 990USB3.0.
    HDD: (3) 1TBs for storage.
    SDD: (2) 128GBs in RAID 0 (Game Files Installed) (Windows 7 64-bit)
    GRAPHICS: Nvidia 580 GTX
    MONITOR: 1920x1080 HD LED running on HDMI

    Laptop Specs

    Login Time-(29secs) (From cold boot) (Skip-ed info pages with Esc)
    CPU: AMD A6 x4 OCed 2.0Ghz.
    RAM: 6GBs of DDR3 1333Mhz.
    MOBO: Not Sure.
    SDD: (1) 60GBs (Game Files Installed) (Windows 7 64-bit)
    GRAPHICS: AMD Radeon 6400 HD
    MONITOR: 1366x768 HD LED


    Network Specs

    ROUTER: Netgear Pro 600 Dual-Band
    MODEM: Cox's (POS) Piece of &&&&
    MAX DOWN: 3MB/s
    MAX UP: 500Kb/s
    ISP: Cox
    Last edited by Sapience; Jul 24 2013 at 03:11 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    11
    Intel Core i7-3930K Processor
    EVGA X79 FTW mainboard
    Duel Intel 600Gb SSD's in raid (2 TB external usb 3 drive as well)
    Duel Nvidia 570 GTX in SLI
    2 Phillips 24 inch monitors and a 15 inch Planar touchscreen
    PNY XLR8 memory 16Gb
    Windows 7

    This pc is pretty beast, it cost a lot and there is a lot more to it but that's the basics of it. In hindsight was kind of a waste because I haven't found any programs that stress it at all. I probably won't have to upgrade anytime soon is the only good thing.

    I have fibreoptic internet with my tv for internet, seems pretty fast, not sure exactly, but it's fast.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    In the dark behind a chair.
    Posts
    130
    Quote Originally Posted by Qtard View Post
    Duel Intel 600Gb SSD's in raid (2 TB external usb 3 drive as well)
    Only bad thing about the 600Gb ones from intel is that there
    Max read is up to 240Mb/s and there Max write is up to 240Mb/s
    so if you have your set up in a Raid 0 which is the fastest Raid set
    Even both your drives in the set up is not as fast as on of my SSDs.
    I would buy a faster Drive, Your computer is as fast as your slowest
    Part and it is the HDD and/or SSD. Even with my $4,000 Set up
    compared to you way more costly set up my DATA transfer rate to
    RAM would be faster and will result in a faster computer. Not trying
    to deface you or be mean just trying to help. Intel does have alot
    of faster drives that have a Max read up to 540Mb/s and a max
    write up to 540Mb/s on SATA (R3) Revision 3 Which mean that
    the south brige chip has a version 3 SATA controller and has a
    max DATA transfer rate of 6Gb/s. We are never going to get a drive
    to reach that anytime soon but still.
    Hope this helped.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    11
    Ohhh! You are right, currently windows says im a 7.5 index and my primary harddrive is 7.5, everything else is 7.9! I might see about a faster drive, though, my computer is pretty snappy just the same.

    Price wise, I didnt pay that much for my computer, my brother owns a shop and all totalled it was under 3 thousand, but I did get my monitors, keyboard and mouse online.
    Last edited by Qtard; Jul 07 2012 at 02:23 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    In the dark behind a chair.
    Posts
    130
    oh wow really cuz I know a 600GB SSD is very costly. and two of themadds up to $2,000

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    11
    So I just bought a new 520 drive, the 240 gig one, going to install windows on it and a couple main proggies I use, I was also informed that I shouldnt bother to raid my SSD, something about the performance gain was not worth it because of the way they work or something, anyways, I'll let you know how this one works out, you can get them reasonably priced, I payed 189 plus tax for this one.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    In the dark behind a chair.
    Posts
    130
    Yes the lower storage ones do not cost that much really, but I do not know where you got the information that SSDs do not gain any performance. This is not true base on how the SSD works. Here is a chart on the performance you can get in RAID 0 vs Normal.

    TYPE MAKE VERSION READ WRITE
    Laptop(HDD) (WD-5400RPM) (SATA R3) (90Mb/s) (112Mb/s)
    Desktop(HDD) (WD-7400RPM) (SATA R3) (170Mb/s) (150Mb/s)
    (SSD) (OCZ VERTEX4) (SATA R3) (540Mb/s) (540Mb/s)
    X2(SSD) in RAID 0 (OCZ VERTEX4) (SATA R3) (1066Mb/s) (1112Mb/s)


    If you have a moherboard that is native SATA R3 and can support RAID 0 putting a HDD or a SSD WILL boost your read/write speeds. The reason for this is SATA R3 controller can handle up to 6Gb/s read/write. We will not have a drive any time soon to reach thos speeds but you can get a 1Gb/s read/write set up like that one I have if you put two(2) of the SAME SSDs in RAID 0.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    11
    You were right! I used HDTach to test my drives speed before raid setup and after:

    one drive = 632MB/s read and 399MB/s write

    2 in raid0 = 1042MB/s read and 798MB/s write

    the 520 intel 240gig drives

    This did increase my windows score for my main drive which is now 7.9, though I didnt notice a difference in any performace...lol, was worth a try.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    In the dark behind a chair.
    Posts
    130
    Quote Originally Posted by Qtard View Post
    You were right! I used HDTach to test my drives speed before raid setup and after:

    one drive = 632MB/s read and 399MB/s write

    2 in raid0 = 1042MB/s read and 798MB/s write

    the 520 intel 240gig drives

    This did increase my windows score for my main drive which is now 7.9, though I didnt notice a difference in any performace...lol, was worth a try.
    ...
    Cool! im glad you could get a little more speed lol
    ...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    In the dark behind a chair.
    Posts
    130

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    In the dark behind a chair.
    Posts
    130

  12. #12

    Free PC from work!

    Work just bought me a new pc, they let me pick it out! They weren't thinking straight, now I am going use my Pentium 133 for work and this beast for gaming!


  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    My house
    Posts
    239
    The specs?... I don't know the specs but I know it's got stuff, it works, and I can play LOTRO on it so I'm fine with it. Plus it's a touch screen :P

  14. #14
    Judging by the big guns that I see on this thread, I will not post any of my information about my PC on here for fear of shame! It works and that is all that matters to me.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    In the dark behind a chair.
    Posts
    130
    Upgraded my build: VIEW HERE!

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload