We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Arcanum, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    64

    Question If the "NEW" LUA bug is fixed will it fix the old one? Narrel?

    So before RoI there was an Inventory bug having to do with the Display of Inventory Items. Now with RoI there is another Inventory bug.

    Can we get verification that both will be fixed? I only see one in the known issues list, which is the current one.
    [CENTER]Cynegar - Warden of Rohan[/CENTER]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Lancaster, England
    Posts
    81

    Re: If the "NEW" LUA bug is fixed will it fix the old one? Narrel?

    From a quick bit of testing the old bug appears to be fixed, but the new bug is sadly more fatal. I for one really hope that they don't put the old bug back when they fix the new one - already redone sortpack to take into account the change...
    Formerly know as [B]MrJackdaw[/B]
    Author of [I]Bevy-o-Bars, SortPack, VBar[/I] and [I]BuffFrame[/I]
    Characters; [B]Dirmac[/B], [B]Dvarlin [/B]and [B]Fathiriel[/B]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    7,600

    Re: If the "NEW" LUA bug is fixed will it fix the old one? Narrel?

    Confirmed, I had Tobii working exactly how I wanted to, and started making progress on a couple of new features, when the last update occurred on Bullroarer, and Tobii became toxic to the client.

    Once the crash to desktop issue is resolved, all the inventory plugins should be able to function correctly again.
    Maley Oakensage, Captain of Elendilmir

    Alas Elendilmir, may you *jingle jangle* forever in the Forgotten West

  4. #4
    Narrel is offline The Lord of the Rings Online Team
    Turbine, Inc.
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    53

    Re: If the "NEW" LUA bug is fixed will it fix the old one? Narrel?

    Quote Originally Posted by joshmiller83 View Post
    So before RoI there was an Inventory bug having to do with the Display of Inventory Items. Now with RoI there is another Inventory bug.

    Can we get verification that both will be fixed? I only see one in the known issues list, which is the current one.
    We're looking into a few things at the moment. What's the old inventory issue you're referring to?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,021

    Re: If the "NEW" LUA bug is fixed will it fix the old one? Narrel?

    Quote Originally Posted by Narrel View Post
    We're looking into a few things at the moment. What's the old inventory issue you're referring to?
    The old bug is the one that broke all bag type plugins. So let's say you were using the Turbine example One Bag plugin. You right click on a weapon inside that bag to swap weapons. Your current weapon would end up displaying in a different slot of the bag (at the top usually) and the place where the weapon was you clicked on would be empty. Your bag would then be broken and will not update correctly.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Lancaster, England
    Posts
    81

    Re: If the "NEW" LUA bug is fixed will it fix the old one? Narrel?

    It used to cause problems with sortpack too - the "swopped" item would not get sorted. Man, that was annoying! I can state that after testing this does not seem to happen with the current client, although of course the client does eventually crash.
    Formerly know as [B]MrJackdaw[/B]
    Author of [I]Bevy-o-Bars, SortPack, VBar[/I] and [I]BuffFrame[/I]
    Characters; [B]Dirmac[/B], [B]Dvarlin [/B]and [B]Fathiriel[/B]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Arcanum, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    64

    Thumbs up Re: If the "NEW" LUA bug is fixed will it fix the old one? Narrel?

    Quote Originally Posted by ChromiteSwiftpaw View Post
    The old bug is the one that broke all bag type plugins. So let's say you were using the Turbine example One Bag plugin. You right click on a weapon inside that bag to swap weapons. Your current weapon would end up displaying in a different slot of the bag (at the top usually) and the place where the weapon was you clicked on would be empty. Your bag would then be broken and will not update correctly.
    This...

    All Inventory plugins had to create "wrapper" workaround plugins to fix this per say. Hopefully this bug stays away once the "new" bug is fixed.
    [CENTER]Cynegar - Warden of Rohan[/CENTER]

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    2,693

    Re: If the "NEW" LUA bug is fixed will it fix the old one? Narrel?

    Quote Originally Posted by Narrel View Post
    We're looking into a few things at the moment. What's the old inventory issue you're referring to?
    I presume that folks are referring to the bug that caused all plugins to break back with the ?October 2010? Lua update.
    Bill Magill Mac Player
    (OTG)
    Val - Man Minstrel (90)
    Valalin - Dwarf Minsrel (69)
    Valamar - Dwarf Hunter (105)
    Valanne - Beorning (90)
    Valdicta - Dwarf RK (105)
    Valhad - Elf LM (65)
    Valkeeper - Elf RK (86)
    Valwood - Dwarf RK (80)


    Valhunt - Dwarf Hunter (70)
    Valanne - Beorning (92)
    Ninth - Man Warden (65)

    "Laid back, not so serious, no drama.
    All about the fun!"


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    23

    Re: If the "NEW" LUA bug is fixed will it fix the old one? Narrel?

    I use only a few plugins, Travel Window, Horsey, Moormaps, and the Plugin Manager. Since the RoI patch, I am crashing roughly every 30 minutes in any version of DX I use. In DX 9 it just crashes to the desktop , but in 10 &11, the game freezes up and I have to shut it down through the Task Manager. Could one of my plugins be causing this? If so, which one?
    [charsig=http://lotrosigs.level3.turbine.com/0120300000009dcb8/01007/signature.png]Malaghan[/charsig]

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,181

    Re: If the "NEW" LUA bug is fixed will it fix the old one? Narrel?

    Quote Originally Posted by Malaghan View Post
    I use only a few plugins, Travel Window, Horsey, Moormaps, and the Plugin Manager. Since the RoI patch, I am crashing roughly every 30 minutes in any version of DX I use. In DX 9 it just crashes to the desktop , but in 10 &11, the game freezes up and I have to shut it down through the Task Manager. Could one of my plugins be causing this? If so, which one?
    Travel window has a new update, Sep 26th or so - you should be using the latest version. MoorMap doesn't access the inventory unless you load the Ettenmoors map and even then it shouldn't have the bug that causes the crash to desktop. I don't believe either of the other two you mentioned access the inventory, but you can find out easily enough. Just run without any plugins loaded at all (don't load Plugin Manager, so it won't load anything else) and see if you are still locking up roughly every 30 minutes. If you still get lockups, then the plugins aren't the issue. If you run smoothly for a couple hours, then try loading plugin manager, turn off all of your plugins and restart your client - NOTE, the restart is important since the inventory bug cans still occur if a plugin accessed the inventory and was unloaded. Then reload Plugin Manager with no other plugins selected so just the manager is running and see if it locks up. If you run smoothly again, the manager is not your problem. Then load one plugin at a time, running for several hours between changes to be sure your system is stable until one of them causes a failure.
    Last edited by Garan; Oct 05 2011 at 11:22 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Arcanum, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    64

    Question Re: If the "NEW" LUA bug is fixed will it fix the old one? Narrel?

    I think the bug I was referring to with the Inventory Icons not changing in Inventory Plugins is still there and maybe worse? Using a bag plugin with wrapper and it seems ok but still having the inventory swapping issue where the icon doesn't change and/or shows the incorrect icon.
    [CENTER]Cynegar - Warden of Rohan[/CENTER]

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload