Wir haben festgestellt, dass Euer Browser keine Cookies akzeptiert. Bitte erlaubt die Verwendung von Cookies in den Optionen Eures Browsers, um eine optimale Funktion dieser Webseite zu gewährleisten.
Ergebnis 1 bis 8 von 8
  1. #1
    Registriert seit
    26.11.2012
    Beiträge
    6

    Launcher still not working

    Apparently this issue was supposed to be fixed but it isn't. I have a feeling many other players are having the same problem.

    It's finished downloading the patch and then when it gets choosing the server it says

    'Internal error, please contact customer support'

    Is there anything I can do to fix this?
    Would uninstalling or installing again help? If so would I loose any of my content I bought?

  2. #2
    Registriert seit
    02.06.2011
    Beiträge
    4

    getting same issue

    I tried un-installing and even copying the .exe files from the backup folder .. im getting the same response "internal error pls contact support" ...

  3. #3
    Registriert seit
    02.06.2011
    Beiträge
    3.515
    [CENTER][URL="http://mpws.guildlaunch.com/"][U][SIZE=3]Mischievous Pipe-Weed Smokers[/SIZE][/U][/URL][/CENTER]
    [CENTER] Blissfully smoking pipe-weed together on [I]Snowbourn[/I] since 14/04/07[/CENTER]
    [CENTER]spend all day smoking pipeweed and dreaming of gold[/CENTER]
    [CENTER][URL="http://mpws.guildlaunch.com/recruiting/create_apply.php?gid=163438"]JOIN US[/URL][/CENTER]

  4. #4
    Registriert seit
    26.11.2012
    Beiträge
    6
    Thank you for the link but none of these worked.

    Attempt 1. Same error message came up.

    Attempt 2. Play button wasn't missing, attempted it anyway and nothing happened

    Attempt 3. Did as said and made no difference

    Attempt 4. Couldn't find the "Userpreferences.ini"

    Attempt 5. Failed. I attempted it on both French and German and they never fully updated. when I tried to get back from English, It either crashes or it loades up to the server choice but the 'Play' button was grey and unclickable.

    Tomorrow I will uninstall and install it unless are there are other suggestions

  5. #5
    Registriert seit
    02.06.2011
    Beiträge
    1
    Same here, and I've already spent too much time trying to fix it.

    They broke it for me. By bye LOTRO.

  6. #6
    Registriert seit
    02.06.2011
    Beiträge
    296
    I tried all the suggested things but nothing. What finally worked for me was to change the proxy settings in the login box from windows default to none. I then got a popup box askning me to agree to the licence. Once i clicked accept i was able to log in again.

    After that i changed the proxy settings back to the windows one.

  7. #7
    Registriert seit
    16.09.2012
    Beiträge
    2

    still not working

    I have this issue also and changing the proxy settings didn't help

  8. #8
    Registriert seit
    14.02.2011
    Beiträge
    2
    Thanks! Changing the Proxy to none worked for me.

 

 

Berechtigungen

  • Neue Themen erstellen: Nein
  • Themen beantworten: Nein
  • Anhänge hochladen: Nein
  • Beiträge bearbeiten: Nein
  •  

Diese Formular-Sitzung ist abgelaufen. Du musst die Seite neu laden.

Neu laden